Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library DIY

Navigating UWG library resources and research

Get full text

In a database if there is no link to the full text, look for the Example of a hyperlinked image, with a "find it" label used in databases to indicate where to click to find full-text access. button, which searches further for the item. If the full text is in a journal to which the library subscribes electronically, you will see a list of databases. Look at the date coverage of the databases listed to make sure they correspond to the date of the article that you need. 

undefined

If the button does not indicate a full text database with the content you seek:

  • Search in the UWG Library Catalog for the journal title in which the article appears. (Do not search for the article title.)  

    • There may be multiple versions of the journal - some may be available electronically, and others may be available only in print. The catalog record will indicate where the journal is located. (For electronic journals you will see a link; for print journals look for the library location listed at the end of the catalog record.) Make sure you are signed-in to view all available options.
       
    • When you locate the journal title, look in the catalog record for the publication dates for which the journal is available. Be sure the publication date of your article matches with the publication years listed in UWG Library Catalog. 

undefined

    • Access the relevant journal issue and navigate to the article you need. 
       
      • For electronic journals: After you've accessed the journal through the catalog link, if you don't see the full text immediately, use the main search box to search by title.  
         
      • For print journals: Items available in print journals will have a location and call number. To find the journal on the shelf, write down the call number or text it to your phone. If the item is only available in print on another campus, click the Request from InterLibrary link to have the item delivered to Ingram Library.

More on accessing a specific journal 

  • If we do not have the article in our online or print collections, request it through InterLibrary Loan. Do not pay for individual articles - you are already paying for access with your UWG tuition. 
     
  • If you need help, visit the reference desk or call us at 678-839-6495.