Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing

Library Resources for nursing, medicine, and allied health

General Information

About This Guide

This page is designed to provide information about nursing, medicine, and allied health resources for students and faculty at the University of West Georgia. The Nursing Librarian, Jean Cook, can help you come up with searches, narrow down topics, and find resources.

For most nursing searches, we recommend starting with the following databases.  However, depending on your topic, many of our databases or ebooks could be helpful.  Explore our full range of services and resources in the left side menu.

We suggest beginning with:

CINAHL: Nursing and Allied Health at EBSCOhost 

Preeminent nursing database, high quality journals and trade publications

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source

Full-text information from leading nursing and related publications. 

MEDLINE (with Full Text) at EBSCOhost

Index and abstracts of Journal articles in the health sciences in general, with no specific focus on nursing

ABI/INFORM at ProQuest 

Find articles on business related aspects of healthcare, like employee management, budgets, insurance, the Affordable Care Act, and more

Nursing Central App

This mobile app is licensed for UWG students, faculty and staff and includes: Davis's Drug Guide with informaiton on over 5,000 drugs, Taber's Medical Dictionary with over 60,000 medical terms, Diseases and Disorders, 4th edition, with over 250 medical conditions, and Davis's Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests. Follow the instructions in this pdf for downloading and using the app.

Nursing Central App

Nursing Central App

This mobile app is licensed for UWG students, faculty and staff and includes: Davis's Drug Guide with informaiton on over 5,000 drugs, Taber's Medical Dictionary with over 60,000 medical terms, Diseases and Disorders, 4th edition, with over 250 medical conditions, and Davis's Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests. Follow the instructions in this pdf for downloading and using the app

Request a Research Consultation

Having trouble getting started?  Reached a dead end?  Physics students and faculty can request an individual research consultation for help with finding resources, accessing materials, using sources, developing searches, and utilizing the library's services.

Schedule a research consultation with a librarian.

Library Info/Services