Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ed.D in Nursing Education

A research guide for Nursing Education Doctoral students

Databases & Articles

Many of the databases we have include the full text of articles. Others only list the article's information and abstract and you must use other means to locate the article (online or request it through ILLiad). Please see the Find It @ UWG tab and the Distance Learning/ILL tab for more information.  Getting a specific article or other resource through the library can seem intimidating; please ask if you need any help!  The Nursing Librarian's information can be found at the left.

A complete list of the databases to which you have access as a UWG student may be found here: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/databases/all/ 

As a Nursing Education Doctoral student, you will be reading and combining information from several disciplines including, but not excluded to:

NURSING

CINAHL

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Indexes approximately 3,000 journals going back to 1981
  • Full-text coverage of more than 70 journals.
  • Includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials

 Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source

  • Available via Proquest
  • Includes nursing journals as well as journals covering alternative and complementary medicine
  • Coverage is 1986-present
  • Also includes evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)

 Health Source: Nursing Edition

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Fulltext of over 500 scholarly journals
  • Includes patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

 MEDLINE with Full Text

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to fulltext articles from leading medical journals
  • Fulltext back to 1965; Abstracts back to 1963

Nursing Central

  • A mobile app licensed for UWG students, faculty and staff
  • Includes Davis's Drug Guide with informaiton on over 5,000 drugs
  • Includes Taber's Medical Dictionary, 21st edition with over 60,000 medical terms
  • Includes Diseases and Disorders, 4th edition, with over 250 medical conditions
  • Includes Davis's Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
  • Follow the instructions in this pdf for downloading and using the app 

 EDUCATION

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

  • Due to privacy issues, many ERIC documents are currently unavailable. Please see http://eric.ed.gov/?faq for information and updates
  • Available via EBSCO
  • A free version with fewer features is available at http://www.eric.ed.gov
  • Includes references to books, journals, conference proceedings, selected presentation, research reports and policy group working papers in addition to US government documents such as Congressional hearings & reports and Dept of Ed reports
  • Links to fulltext when available. Use Find It @ UWG for the others.

Proquest Education

  • Available via Proquest
  • Great deal of full text education journals, dissertations, and reports

Professional Development Collection

  • Indexes over 800 professional development journals (500+ full text)
  • Fulltext of 160+ education pamphlets

Education Full Text

  • Indexes over 1000  journals
  • Fulltext of 350 education journals

 


PSYCHOLOGY

PsycINFO

  • American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly articles
  • the APA equivalent of CINAHL or ERIC
  • available via EBSCO

PsycArticles

  • contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA
  • available via EBSCO

Proquest Psychology Journals

  • Full-text psychology journals and trade publications

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

  • Over 400 full text psychology journals
  • Available via EBSCOhost

PUBLIC POLICY

CQ Public Affairs Collection

  • Contains a lot of pre-digested material but locating material by topic is an easy way to get a quick overview of an issue

West Law

  • Predominant research service for legal, news, and business-related information

 

 WEB OF KNOWLEDGE

 

Web of Knowledge

 


BUSINESS

ABI/INFORM Complete

  • Available from Proquest
  • Good place to look for economic impact of health practices and current laws
  • Excellent coverage of management, operations, risk management, and personnel issues
  • Indexes 6800 journals, with over 80% full text

Business Source Complete

  • Available from EBSCO
  • Indexes over 4000 journals, with 75% full text
  • Includes business profiles of markets, industry reports, companies, countries, and SWOT analysis

MULTI-DISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Complete

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Good place to start for a sampling of information across the disciplines
  • Indexes over 10,000 journals with nearly half fulltext
  • Includes scholarly and popular material

Proquest Dissertations and Theses

  • Available via ProQuest
  • Coverage:  1861 to the present
  • Most PDFs of dissertations dating from 1997
  • Updated frequently

EndNote

EndNote is a online citation manager, used for storing, sharing, organizing, and citing sources from the databases and other research areas.  Students and staff can create an EndNote account at myendnoteweb.com.  You must log into this account from on-campus once each year to keep it active.  If you cannot make it on campus, contact Jean Cook at jcook@westga.edu or 678-839-6356.

Journal Search

The Journals button tells you which journals are in which databases.  For instance, if you were searching for Nursing Education Perspectives, simply type the name into the search box under the Journals button.  A listing of databases that index the journal will be displayed, along with coverage dates and also any embargo information.  You will need your myUWG username and password to access them from off campus (video demonstration).