Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MS in Nursing

Databases & Articles

Some of the databases we have include fulltext articles. Others merely have a reference to an article and you have to use other means to locate the article (online or request it through ILLiad). Please see the Find It @ UWG tab and the Distance Learning/ILL tab for more information.

 

A complete list of the databases to which you have access as a UWG student can be found here: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/databases/all/ .

 

As a Nursing Masters student, you will mostly be using Nursing literature but you might also want to use Web of Knowledge or some of our multidisciplinary databases. For instance, insurance, employee management, or hospital as a business questions are best covered in a Business database like ABI/INFORM.


NURSING

CINAHL

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Indexes approximately 3,000 journals going back to 1981
  • Full-text coverage of more than 70 journals.
  • Includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source

  • Available via Proquest
  • Includes nursing journals as well as journals covering alternative and complementary medicine
  • Coverage is 1986-present
  • Also includes evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)

Health Source: Nursing Edition

  • Available via EBSCOhost
  • Fulltext of over 500 scholarly journals
  • Includes patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

 MEDLINE with Full Text

  • Available via EBSCOhost
  • Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to fulltext articles from leading medical journals
  • Fulltext back to 1965; Abstracts back to 1963

PsycINFO at EBSCOhost

  • American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations
  • largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
  • contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

ProQuest Psychology

  • Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications

PsycARTICLES at EBSCOhost

  • contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

 Nursing Central

  • A mobile app licensed for UWG students, faculty and staff
  • Includes Davis's Drug Guide with informaiton on over 5,000 drugs
  • Includes Taber's Medical Dictionary, 21st edition with over 60,000 medical terms
  • Includes Diseases and Disorders, 4th edition, with over 250 medical conditions
  • Includes Davis's Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
  • Follow the instructions in this pdf for downloading and using the app

BUSINESS

ABI/INFORM Complete

  • Available from Proquest
  • Good place to look for economic impact of health practices and current laws
  • Excellent coverage of management, operations, risk management, and personnel issues
  • Indexes 6800 journals, with over 80% full text

Business Source Complete

  • Available from EBSCO
  • Indexes over 4000 journals, with 75% full text
  • Includes business profiles of markets, industry reports, companies, countries, and SWOT analysis


WEB OF KNOWLEDGE

Web of Knowledge


 MULTI-DISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Complete

  • Available via EBSCO
  • Good place to start for a sampling of information across the disciplines
  • Indexes over 10,000 journals with nearly half fulltext
  • Includes scholarly and popular material

Proquest Dissertations

  • Available via ProQuest
  • Coverage:  1861 to the present
  • Some PDFs of dissertations dating from 1997
  • Updated frequently

Journal Search

The Journals button tells you which journals are in which databases.  For instance, if you were searching for Nursing Education Perspectives, simply type the name into the search box under the Journals button.  A listing of databases that index the journal will be displayed, along with coverage dates and also any embargo information.  You will need your myUWG username and password to access them from off campus (video demonstration).