Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing

Library Resources for nursing, medicine, and allied health

Nursing Databases

Databases

Listed below are nursing, medicine and allied health databases.  The databases contain articles, but some may include other types of information. To search a database, click on the database name.

For an introduction to using databases, watch this video from the Nursing Liaison, Jean Cook.

Have a citation and looking for a particular article? Here's how to get whatever you need.


We suggest beginning with:

CINAHL: Nursing and Allied Health at EBSCOhost GALILEO Express Link  

CINAHL provides bibliographic access to over 1,550 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included. Index covers 1982- . Contains some full-text articles.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health SourceGALILEO Express Link

Full-text information from leading nursing and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions.

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition at EBSCOhost GALILEO Express Link

600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, and over-the-counter products.

MEDLINE (with Full Text) at EBSCOhostGALILEO Express Link 

Index and abstracts of Journal articles in the health sciences.

PsycINFO at EBSCOhost

American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

ProQuest Psychology

Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications

PsycARTICLES at EBSCOhost

The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

 

Nursing Central App

This mobile app is licensed for UWG students, faculty and staff and includes: Davis's Drug Guide with informaiton on over 5,000 drugs, Taber's Medical Dictionary with over 60,000 medical terms, Diseases and Disorders, 4th edition, with over 250 medical conditions, and Davis's Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests. Follow the instructions in this pdf for downloading and using the app


Here are some other databases you may want to consider:

ABI/INFORM at ProQuest GALILEO Express Link  

Articles on business related aspects of healthcare, like employee management, budgets, insurance, the Affordable Care Act, and more

Alt HealthWatch at EBSCOhost GALILEO Express Link  

Articles on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health.

SportDiscus

Articles on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, disabled persons, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health, and more.

Wiley InterScience

Over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources.

 Get the DOI for an Article

The DOI, or direct object identifier, provides a unique number for each journal article.  If you need the DOI and your article does not contain the information, navigate to free DOI lookup