Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elementary Education

Distance Learning Library Services

Books

If you need a book, you may place a request online to have a book sent to the University System of Georgia (USG) library closest to you for pickup using GIL Express.  If pickup is not an option (the book is unavailable or you are unable to pick it up), please place a Distance Learning Library Services book request using InterLibrary Loan. 

Books are mailed at no charge and include a postage paid return label.

To recap: If you want a book that you can pick up from a USG library, use GIL Express to request that book. If you want a book owned by UWG to be mailed to you, place a request using InterLibrary Loan. 

Articles

You can access our library subscription databases from any location by first visiting the library homepage: westga.edu/library and then clicking 'Databases and GALILEO' and choosing the database you'd like to explore. You can also visit databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and more from the database links in the research guide. You will be prompted to log-in with your UWG credentials, or asked for the GALILEO password, which you can find in CourseDen.

If you find an article that UWG libraries does not provide full-text access to, you can request that item using InterLibrary Loan. Please register for an ILLiad account.  If we own the journal that you need, please choose "Request Items Owned by Ingram Library" article form.  If we do not own the journal, please choose the Interlibrary Loan "article request" form, and our interlibrary loan office will obtain the article from another library.

Using other libraries

Possession of a current UWG ID is preferred, but with another acceptable picture ID (such as your driver's license), you can check out books at any other University System Library, as long as you have current status in our library user database. This means that you must be registered currently or employed by UWG and not owe any fines or fees from a previous semester. You can verify your status by logging into Your Account in our library catalog (for step-by-step instructions on how to do that, visit the My Accounts and Passwords page.

Check the USG catalog to see if another USG library owns the book you want and place a GIL Express Request.
To view a map showing the names and locations of all the University System libraries from which you may borrow, click HERE.

The University of West Georgia is a member of the Atlanta Regional Commission on Higher Education, and you may be eligible to obtain an ARCHE card, which provides borrowing privileges at many private academic libraries in the Atlanta Metro Area. You may request a card by contacting our circulation desk or our interlibrary loan office.

As a West Georgia student, faculty member or staff, you can also borrow materials from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan office. First, determine that the UWG Library does not own the book or journal that you need, and then use ILLiad to place a request.  Register here if you are a first time user.  Journal articles are usually delivered electronically to your ILLiad account, and (if you are a distance education student) books/loans borrowed for you can be mailed to your home address upon request to the DLS office.  A pre-paid return label is included with each loan.