LibGuides: Elementary Education: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

There are many places to find articles for Education-related research. Please see the more specialized guides for more resources. The best education databases are:

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
Education Full Text
Provides coverage on the topics of secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and more. Full text coverage for 350 journals and additional indexing for another 770 periodicals.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements. Covers primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
PsycINFO (ABSTRACTS ONLY)
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Includes international material selected from more than 2200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887 to present. ABSTRACTS ONLY.
ProQuest Psychology Database
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.

Dissertations

Many of our subject databases have dissertations listed in them that are specific to that area of study.

Proquest Education in particular has many dissertations on educational topics. ERIC also has a large number of dissertations indexed in it. Some you will be able to access right away by clicking the Full Text PDF button. Others you may need to request by filling out the Dissertation form on ILLiad. To find dissertations, go into our recommended databases that cover its discipline and do a search. Then choose dissertations on the left side menu of the results page. Your subject librarian can help you find dissertations on your topic, if needed.