LibGuides: Career Readiness Through Experiential Learning: Exploring Professions

Explore Professional Tools

Ingram Library provides access to many of the same information tools and databases that professionals in a wide variety of fields are expected to know. Learning about these tools and how to utilize them to improve your work and organization can be a valuable skill for most job searchers.

Explore business tools like:

IBISWorld: Industry Reports
Contains in-depth surveys over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports are usually 30-50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.
ValueLine
ValueLine Digital Library includes the Investment Survey, Mutual Fund Survey, and the Small & Midcap Surveys.
Mergent Online
Business research including Company Financial Information, Annual Reports, EDGAR SEC Filings. A database of corporate information on over 25,000 U.S. public companies, over 35,000 foreign public companies, and over 34,000 private companies. Includes: complete corporate history; lists of subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel; up to 25 years of annual and quarterly financial data; up to 10 years of scanned, full-image annual reports, including SEC filings; extensive information about the corporation's current long term debt; links to recent news reports; reports on insider and institutional owners.

Ingram Library ensures that campus has access to the latest research and news happening in each discipline. We offer on-campus and off-campus access to many renowned databases used by scholars and professionals to share information. Learn what the experts are discovering in your majors!

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, and pharmacology.
MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. 1960 to present.
AGRICOLA (at EBSCOhost)
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject.
CINAHL
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
The ERIC database is produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI), U.S. Department of Education. Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.

Discipline Specific Resources

Ingram Library has research guides for each college on campus. These subject guides often include links to relevant professional societies, online reference and data banks, and databases and other information tools used by professionals in that field. Explore the subject guide for your field. Try a few of the databases. What sorts of research and innovation are occurring? Academic journals and trade publications are how professionals push their field forward and discuss common issues. What are the major events or challenges affecting your field?

College of Art, Culture, and Scientific Inquiry	College of Education	Richards College of Business
School of Communication, Film and Media	Tanner Health System School of Nursing	University College