Part of the American Folklife Center in the Library of Congress, it contains pioneering documentation of grassroots music.
Blog by the music critic of The New Yorker.
Site by jazz fans for jazz fans; information and opinions.
Extensive coverage of all types of music. You can subscribe to their New Release Newsletter.
Free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
This site has America's oldest classical music review magazine.
Furthers the cause of music in public schools.
Makes available over 17,000 pages of American music manuscripts.
Blog on the current arts scene in Atlanta.
Information about almost all the different plucked instruments still in use.
Bowling Green State University in Ohio has the largest collection of popular music recordings in an academic library in North America.
Good site for information about new releases; reviews for fans and music executives.
Sponsored by the Birthplace of Country Music Alliance (BCMA). Bristol, Tennessee is the birthplace of country music because Ralph Peer made the first commercial recordings of country music there in 1927.
Reference guide by Temple University.
Provides links of black composers' names to worldwide library holdings of their classical music scores.
Archives of African American music and culture.
A Baker & Taylor product, this site provides monthly reviews of new release music.
Archive and research center at Middle Tennessee State University devoted to the study of American popular music from the pre-revolutionary era to the present.
Digital first editions of Frederic Chopin.
Home of the Choral Public Domain Library, one of the world's largest free sheet music sites.
About 2,500 pieces specifically about the war, not simply of the time period, from the collection at the Library of Congress.
Developed by Don Oehler, the clarinet professor at University of North Carolina, this website provides information to 600+ works for string quartet with clarinet.
From BBC Music Magazine.
This database helps you find music that is similar to something that you already know and like.
Research guide from Youngstown State University that lists representative composers from different time periods and countries.
The Copyright Clearance Center provides free online sessions about copyright issues.
Digitized music scores.
Music scores, especially European scores.
Digitization of the New York Public Library's music catalog.
Covers the legacy of J. S. Bach, history’s most influential composer.
Access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
A database of master recordings made by American record companies during the 78 rpm record era.
Definitive monthly record of jazz, blues, and roots music.
Jazz/Avant-garde/Art-pop/Progressive/Improvised, etc. Has a weekly email announcing new releases.
Provides drummers with information about important performers, video and audio recordings of performances, and instructional materials.
University of Washington's collection of over 400 musical instruments.
Magazine for serious record collectors.
Index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs.
An interactive library of high-quality legal audio downloads. Directed by WFMU.
Site to obtain sheet music and instruments.
Focuses on sound, not songs. Provides a database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps.
Folk, roots, and world music guide, archived now; continued by podcast.
Free online newsletter provided by the Georgia Music Educators Association.
Devoted to the operas and other works of W. S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan.
Classical music reviews and news.
Links to about a hundred websites.
Digitized sheet music for about 3000 musical works by more than 700 women composers, mostly from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries, with a few pieces from the 18th century. The originals are from the University of Michigan Music Library.
Searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte for the years 1829-1900. Containing some 330,000 records of music publications, it is the most extensive resource for establishing what was published where and when during that period.
Comprehensive index of hymnals, published hymns, scores and media files, and other sources.
An impressive virtual library containing all public domain music; over 326,000 scores and 36,000 recordings of over 97,000 works.
Official database for Broadway theatre information.
Sponsored by San Jose State University.
Freely-available digitized images of public domain sheet music from the Ward Irish Music Archives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; covers about 1750-present.
Hamilton College's Fillius Jazz Archive has videorecordings of interviews with jazz musicians, arrangers, writers and critics.
Jazz magazine.
Curated academic search engine that indexes thousands of free ejournals in the arts and humanities.
Free popular music recordings.
Archive of texts used in lieder and other classical art songs, and translations of the texts.
Rock/pop/alternative site compiles reviews from multiple sources and assigns an overall score to new releases.
Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives is a site for heavy metal music coverage.
Columbia University Libraries provides an extensive list of online resources about music and dance of Africa.
GSU has collections about Johnny Mercer, country music in the Atlanta area, and WSB radio broadcasting.
By Mickey Koth, renowned music librarian at Yale.
By Children's Music Workshop, this site aids music educators, students, and parents.
Resource for music production professions and their educational requirements.
Database of information about people involved in music.
Sponsored by the Dolmetsch Organisation.
Researchers can access the world's most valued music manuscripts and materials held at the world's most renowned music archives.
Free music resources on classical music, opera, jazz, rock, etc. Good site for pictures and quotations.
Information on classical composers.
Music theory lessons, exercises, and tools. Generate and download staff paper from this site.
Helps you to find and identify tunes, even if the melody is all you know.
BYU site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference.
Site devoted to national anthems of countries and territories. All files are in MP3 format.
Advances music education.
Opera materials from the collection of the Library of Congress Music Division.
Serving the Americana, alt-country and roots music community since 1995.
Covers Central Georgian folk festivals created by and for African Americans. Contains 100 sound recordings, plus letters, photographs, etc. Especially useful for lyrics of some wartime songs.
Yale University Libraries database of over 1000 interviews of composers, performers, and other significant musicians.
American roots, in, out, electronic, funk/soul, hip-hop, international pop, jazz, psych/prog, reggae/dub, world music.
Free automated tool for creating parts from music scores.
Free jazz piano lessons.
Indie rock.
Trade publication covering the worldwide concert industry.
GSU has collections about Johnny Mercer, country music in the Atlanta area, and WSB radio broadcasting.
RIdIM provides a database of music, dance, theatre, and opera iconography images.
Covers Oberlin's collection--a comparatively small number of instruments (297 in 2012)--but does it well. See also Stearns Collection link below and Virtual Instrument Museum link below.
World's largest free music magazine index; searchable key to articles, discographies, record reviews, etc. from 1992 to now.
Rock/pop/alternative music.
Great source for root music: blues, gospel, vintage rock, country, bluegrass, folk music, etc.
Sponsored by the Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association.
Focuses on the management aspects of running a successful school band or orchestra music program.
Largest online collection of Franz Schubert.
Find out who performed the original version of a particular song, or who covered that song.
The Southeast Chapter of the Music Library Association.
UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and Duke University provide searchable indexes of their sheet music collections.
Royalty-free music, stock music, and sound effects.
The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library is the largest academic music library in North America. It has digitized thousands of its public-domain music scores, emphasizing scores not widely held by other libraries and not digitized elsewhere.
Site about urban legends with respect to music.
Song meanings, lyrics, and trivia.
A collection of sounds--think sound effects--sponsored by Duke University.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has one of the nation's foremost archival resources for the study of American folk music and popular culture.
Rock/pop/alternative music.
Searchable database of nearly 1600 tracks from recordings of spirituals written for the solo voice.
Free popular music recordings.
Over 2,500 historical and contemporary musical instruments from all over the world.
Includes part assignments for percussion and timpani (how many players are required and who plays what) and a percussion dictionary.
A primary resource for the serious musician, institution, and music lover; book and music titles.
Alternative rock since 1983.
Find out what music was used in television and movies.
Authoritative links for humanities research.
Wesleyan University has one of the largest and most diverse collections of world musical instruments and has a virtual museum.
Download free instrumental music available for educational, commercial & non-commercial use.
Look up and listen to Billboard's #1 song on a specific date in history.
Open access journals are digital/online scholarly journals that are free of charge, both to publish in and to access. Here are some that may be of interest to you.
A great place to start, this website lists several dozen open access journals in music, with links to each.
A directory of academic open access repositories.