Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sports Management

Sports Management resources

The best databases to search for articles on sports management topics are:

 

SPORTDiscus

  • Covers sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, kinesiology, coaching, sport administration and more
  • Does not contain fulltext, but links to it when available via Find It @ UWG
  • Contains references to articles, books, dissertations and conference proceedings
  • If using EndNote, follow directions for EBSCO databases
SPORTDiscus Quick Search

 

SBRnet - Sports Business Research Network

  • Market research from National Sporting Goods Association, US Dept of Commerce and other agencies
  • Fulltext of trade publications and newsletters

 

Business Source Complete

  • Fulltext access to many peer-reviewed business journals in marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance, and economics
  • For articles not fulltext in BSC, it links to options via Find It @ UWG
  • Includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis and more
  • If using Endnote, follow directions for EBSCO databases
Business Quick Search

 

Sociology journals

  • Full-text of 28 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 10,000 articles
  • Includes Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and much more

Finding Articles in Education Databases

There are many places to find articles for Education-related research. We recommend starting the Education databases for most topics.  Depending on your topic, you may want to try databases in other fields, like sociology, business, or psychology.

Education Databases:

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

  • Includes references to books, journals, conference proceedings, selected presentation, research reports and policy group working papers in addition to US government documents such as Congressional hearings & reports and Dept of Ed reports
  • Links to fulltext when available. Use Find It @ UWG for the others.
  • Please check ERIC's website for updated information on the availability of ERIC documents.
  • A free version with fewer features is available at http://www.eric.ed.gov

 Education Full Text

  • Has many fulltext journals, but not 100% fulltext
  • Includes references to books and journals about secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and other topics
  • Use Find It @ UWG to find articles not included as fulltext

 ProQuest Education Journals

  • Indexes over 400 education journals

LISTA (Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts)

  • Indexes over 600 journals
  • Includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more

Library Science Database (Proquest)

  • Includes full-text access to over 150 top publications in library and information science
  • theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.

Professional Development Collection

  • Indexes over 800 professional development journals (500+ full text)
  • Fulltext of 160+ education pamphlets

 Dissertations & Theses

  • Multidisciplinary database of dissertations and theses on a wide range of disciplines, including education.
  • Coverage: 1861 to the present
  • Some PDFs of dissertations dating from 1997
  • Updated frequently