Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science

A guide to books, websites and databases related to the field of Computer Science

Computer Science Databases

Upper level undergraduates and graduate students can use these sources to find a variety of scholarly journal articles and books in the field of computer science.

Association for Computing Machinery: Digital Library

This database provides full text of every article published by ACM

Computer Source

 This EBSCOhost database contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering computer science, program, cybernetics, AI, information systems, robotics, and software.

ProQuest Computer Science Database

Search the full text of many top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index (formerly Computer and Information Systems Abstracts)

Citations to articles on software, artificial intelligence, automation, equipment manufacturing and design, system security, imaging systems, robotics, pattern recognition, logic and switching theory, CAD/CAM, computer mathematics, and computer electronics

O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Tech Books Online)

Full text books about computer topics. Ingram Library has expanded its Safari Tech Book collection to include more learning paths, case studies, books, videos, and more).  Find out more information here.

To Access:
1) Visit https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/temporary-access/?orpq (I've added a note to Safari in our A-Z list and created a new entry for O'Reilly)
2) Under 'Select Your Institution,' choose 'Not Listed? Click here.'
3) Under 'Academic email,' enter your westga email address. You will be prompted to enter your UWG email address only, which is the method of authentication this resource requires. You may receive an email from O'Reilly to create an account, but you DO NOT have to create an account. There are benefits to creating an account (saved searches, reading lists, etc.), but again, it's not required. You can simply enter your email address each time you access this resource.
NOTE: If you log out and do not clear your browser history, then attempt to go back to O'Reilly, a login screen asking for your username and password will be displayed to you. You must clear your browser's history before accessing this resource if you want to authenticate with just your email domain (no password or personal account).
 

 

Web of Knowledge (formerly called Web of Science)

 

A massive index covering science, social science, and arts and humanities.  Find articles on your topic, trace sources which that article cites, and sources that cite that article.  Discover funding agencies, institutional partners, significant authors and journals.

Science and Technology Collection

Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, computer technology, and materials science.

General Databases

General databases cover a number of subjects and are often a good place to start a research project. Users can find coverage of news events dealing with technological issues, as well as the affect of technology on other fields.