Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics

A guide to searching and accessing physics materials through Ingram Library

Databases

For most lower level, non-professional research, a general database will cover most of what you need, including the basics of a topic and the latest developments.

  • Academic Search Complete
    • Includes major news carriers (ie: New York Times), popular science magazines (ie: Science, Nature, Discover, Scientific American, Popular Science), and more.

For more scholarly, upper level research, you will want to use our subject specific databases.  Try searching in a database that covers only the fields you're interested in.  Many physics-related databases can be found in the following section.

Many of our science journals are also available in print.  Please use the Journal Locator to see if your article is available.  Any article not immediately available can be requested via ILLIAD.

Finding Specific Articles

Getting hold of a specific journal can be the hardest thing to do at the library.  The video below will get you started, but if you need more help, you can contact me at jcook@westga.edu or use the Library 24/7 chat service.

Print Indexes

Our databases do not provide universal coverage of every journal.  Ingram Library also owns a number of print resources that can help you find relevant articles. If you're stuck, try the following indexes, located behind the reference desk on the main floor or contact the reference desk for help.

  • Applied Science and Technology Index (Ref. Index Area: T1 .A6x)
  • General Science Index (Ref. Index Area: Q1 .G46x)