LibGuides: Speech Language Pathology: Finding Articles

Speech Language Pathology Resources

The first few resources listed are for articles on topics specific to the Speech Language Pathology program, including linguistics and medical information. For articles focusing on education, scroll down to the general education resources below.

MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine,
PsycINFO
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Includes international material selected from more than 2200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887 to present.
PsycARTICLES
Includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals. Indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. 1894 to present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
A full-text database targeted for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals on topics, such as child and adolescent psychology, counseling, anthropology and experimental methods. 1945 to present.
ProQuest Psychology Database
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
CINAHL with Full Text
Provides access to full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed
An official website of the National Library of Medicine. Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Education Databases

There are many places to find articles for Education-related research. We recommend starting the Education databases for most topics. Each database contains different materials so try several databases to get all the resources on your topic. Depending on your topic, you may want to try databases in other fields, like sociology, business, computer science, or psychology.

Education Databases:

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
Education Full Text
Provides coverage on the topics of secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and more. Full text coverage for 350 journals and additional indexing for another 770 periodicals.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements. Covers primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Professional Development Collection (Education)
A specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators. Includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education. Also provides full text for more than 160 education pamphlets. 1940 to present.

Library Science Databases (includes school media and information literacy topics)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
Library Science Database (ProQuest)
Gives users full-text access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. This collection is specifically designed to provide full-text support for the core titles included in ProQuest's authoritative Library & Information Science Abstracts database (LISA). It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Provides indexing and abstract coverage of topics on technology including classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, Internet search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, electronic publishing, and more. This database indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications. Sources indexed include books, research reports, conference proceedings, and patents.

Dissertations

Many of our subject databases have dissertations listed in them that are specific to that area of study. We particularly recommend the following databases for full text education dissertations. Others you may need to request by filling out the Dissertation form on ILLiad. To find dissertations, go into our recommended databases that cover its discipline and do a search. Then choose dissertations on the left side menu of the results page. Your subject librarian can help you find dissertations on your topic, if needed.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
ProQuest Databases
The Proquest Databases contain many dissertations from a wide variety of fields. Search for a student's name, university, or title. Then choose Dissertations under Source Type on the Results Page. You can also search "University of West Georgia" in quotes to find dissertations from this school.