Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University History

Essential information about the history of the University of West Georgia and links to key digitized materials from the university's history

Fourth District A&M School

The Fourth District Agricultural and Mechanical (A & M) School was established to educate rural youth in 1906 by the Georgia General Assembly. It operated from 1908-1933 in Carroll County. In 1933 the A & M School was disbanded and the University System of Georgia Board of Regents established West Georgia College, now known as the University of West Georgia, at the site.