LibGuides: School Library Media: Articles

Core Library Science Databases

In the School Library Media program, you will likely use resources focused on education and on library science. Below are some links to databases in each area.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Over 100 titles are available in full text. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more.
Library Science Database (ProQuest)
Gives users full-text access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. This collection is specifically designed to provide full-text support for the core titles included in ProQuest's authoritative Library & Information Science Abstracts database (LISA). It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Provides indexing and abstract coverage of topics on technology including classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, Internet search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, electronic publishing, and more. This database indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications. Sources indexed include books, research reports, conference proceedings, and patents.

Core Education Databases

We recommend starting with Education databases for most topics. Each database contains different materials so try several databases to get all the resources on your topic. Depending on your topic, you may want to try databases in other fields, like sociology, business, computer science, or psychology.

Education Databases:

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
Education Full Text
Provides coverage on the topics of secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and more. Full text coverage for 350 journals and additional indexing for another 770 periodicals.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements. Covers primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Professional Development Collection (Education)
A specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators. Includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education. Also provides full text for more than 160 education pamphlets. 1940 to present.
Chronicle of Higher Education (Premium)
Provides news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators, serving as a major news service for US academic affairs. All content from 1989 to present is available.

Dissertations

We recommend the following database for full text dissertations. Others you may need to request by filling out the Dissertation form on ILLiad. Your subject librarian can help you find dissertations on your topic, if needed.

ProQuest Databases
BEST RESOURCE FOR UWG DISSERTATIONS. Search for a student's name, university, or title. Then choose Dissertations under Source Type on the Results Page. You can also search "University of West Georgia" in quotes to find dissertations from this school.