Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GeoScience Resources

Ingram Library Resources for GeoScience students and faculty

Databases

Students at UWG have access to over 68,000 journals in more than 300 databases.  Geoscience students can find relevant trade, news, and peer-reviewed articles in the subject specific databases.  Look in the general databases for popular magazines, newspaper, and other low-level materials that will give you a broad overlook of your topic.

Consider other disciplines that may cover your topic.  Depending on the topic, you may benefit from databases that cover other areas, like business or political science.  Review our list of other discipline specific databases to make sure you hit everything relevant.

Subject Specific Databases

GeoRef
A comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.

Environment Complete
Deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,590,000 records from 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s as well as 100 monographs.

Web of Knowledge [formerly called Web of Science]
A massive citation database covering science, social science, and arts and humanities.  Find articles on your topic, trace sources which that article cites, and sources that cite that article.  Discover funding agencies, institutional partners, significant authors and journals.

Science Direct
Over 3000 science journals, abstracts and full text.  Topics include all fields of science and mathmatics.

Science and Technology Collection
Over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.


Wiley InterScience
Over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources


General Databases (cover all topics including Geosciences)

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.


Research Library at ProQuest
Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. 2,600+ publications.

JSTOR 
One of the major full-text databases for journal articles, including articles written in other languages such as Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Note that "JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR." (from JSTOR's Welcome page)

Data Repositories (cover all topics including Geosciences)

USGS Maps, Imagery, Data, and Publications
by the United States Geological Survey

American FactFinder
by U.S. Census Bureau

Statistical Universe
Statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published originally by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is now created and updated annually by Proquest. It is a a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
World's largest archive of social science data sets. Election date, opinion polls, and more in raw data.

More data archives can be found in the Data Analytics research guide.

How do I get the article?

If the full-text of an article is not available in our databases, you will see this button next to the reference:



Click on the button to see options to get the article:
  • Online (if available)
  • In print (links to GIL, the library catalog)
  • Via interlibrary loan (using ILLiad system)

Use interlibrary loan to request journal articles that are not available in the library's print or online collection. Please note that

  • The average turnaround time for articles is 2-3 days but can be longer for certain titles.
  • Notifications will be sent to the email account used to register for ILLiad.
  • Articles must be downloaded from your ILLiad account within 30 days.
If you are a new user, please create an ILLiad account. You can set up your ILLiad account to use your UWG ID username and password, if you prefer.