Muscogee (Creek) and Cherokee Nations history

Petition by certain Georgia property owners for the federal government to pay claims made against the Creek Indians for property destroyed prior to 1802, the U.S. having assumed responsibility for these claims as a treaty obligation. Government document: H.R. doc. 65. 22d Cong. 1st sess

Protesting the bill to carry into effect the fourth section of the land cession treaty of January 8, 1821, (Treaty of Indian Springs)--between the U.S. and the Creek Nation.

"January 17, 1832. Referred to the Committee of the whole House, to which is committed the bill (H.R. no. 128)--to carry into effect the 4th article of the treaty of the 8th January, 1821, between the United States and the Creek Nation of Indians, so far as relates to the claims of citizens of Georgia against said Indians for injury done prior to the passage of the act of Congress regulating intercourse with Indian tribes."
Memorial signed and dated, John H. Brodnax, Special agent, Benjamin Marshall, George Stiggens, and others; January 9, 1832.

The memorial illustrates Georgia's attempt to get the U.S. to cover payments for pre-1802 attacks by the Creeks, representing that the government has prevented them by treaty from recovering the money from the Indians.

"February 5, 1827. Read and ordered to lie on the table."
Last leaf (p. 9) is lacking.
Bound with: The survey of the Creek lands : message from the President of the United States, transmitting a letter from the governor of Georgia, with accompanying documents, in relation to the proceeding of certain Indians in said state ; Series: 19th Cong. 2d sess. House. Ex. doc. 76. Series: [Wymberley Jones De Renne Georgia Library collection]

"January 29, 1883. Referred to the Committee on printing."
"February 3, 1883. Ordered to be printed."
From the library of Robert Spurrier Ellison, with his bookplate.
Series: 47th Congress, 2d session. House of Representatives. Mis. doc. no. 18

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Petition by certain Georgia property owners for the federal government to pay claims made against the Creek Indians for property destroyed prior to 1802, the U.S. having assumed responsibility for these claims as a treaty obligation. Government document: H.R. doc. 65. 22d Cong. 1st sess.

Caption title: A sketch of the Creek country, p. [19].
Cover title: The Creek country.
"Being a reprint of vol. three, part one of the Georgia Historical Society publications ..."
Originally published in 1848.
Another vol. of the Collections of the Georgia Historical Society, published in 1873, was called "Vol. III" also.

First Published in the New-York Review, August, 1825. New York?, 1825. Print. Wymberley Jones De Renne Georgia Library Collection.

"January 17, 1832. Referred to the Committee of the whole House, to which is committed the bill (H.R. no. 128)--to carry into effect the 4th article of the treaty of the 8th January, 1821, between the United States and the Creek Nation of Indians, so far as relates to the claims of citizens of Georgia against said Indians for injury done prior to the passage of the act of Congress regulating intercourse with Indian tribes."

Memorial signed and dated, John H. Brodnax, Special agent, Benjamin Marshall, George Stiggens, and others; January 9, 1832. Series: [United States] 22d Cong., 1st sess. House. Doc. 56

United States. Washington: Printed by Gales & Seaton, 1827. Print. Ex. Doc. (United States. Congress. House) ; 19th Congress, 2nd Session, No. 76.

Gatschet, Albert S., and Academy of Science of St. Louis. Philadelphia: D.G. Brinton, 1884. Print. Library of Aboriginal American Literature; No. 4.

Bushnell. Washington : Government Printing Office, 1920.

UWG Special Collections copy has contemporary three-quarter red morocco and cloth, stamped in gift. Spine and corners rubbed. This copy has moderate scattered foxing and is in good condition. A bookplate of a former owner is pasted inside the back cover. A modern inscription on the front flyleaf is by William Mathews Marks and Jane Hawkins Andrews Marks. Inserted is a presentation card (written in ink with the same handwriting as the inscription) by four of the author's descendants (great, great, great, great niece and nephews). Also inserted is a penciled memorandum on six loose leaves of lined paper. The memorandum says it is "Recolections of Orb Philips (Ob) (Philip) Ob was a slave of Nicholas Pitts -- Came from Warren Co. Georgia, 16 miles from Augusta. Columbia Co Sparta." It lists his 7 wives and various recollections of Orb, like "Lived on deer."

UWG Special Collections owns this extremely rare second volume of "A migration legend of the Creek Indians" by the well known ethnologist Daniel G. Brinton. The Special Collections copy is complete with both volumes, although the first volume is recorded on a separate bibliographic record in the catalog. This rare second volume was issued in St. Louis by a different publisher in 1888 and only in a few copies. Howes calls this work a "highly important contribution to the history of the Southern Indian" and calls the title "misleading and totally inadequate." The UWG copy of this volume is in the original publisher's cloth, spine gilt, with light wear to spine ends and edges. There is light tanning and occasional very faint foxing. It is in very good condition and untrimmed.