LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles

Core Chemistry Databases: Start Here

Always use a database to find journal articles. If you are off-campus, log in with your myUWG username and password

SciFinder (REQUIRES LOGIN)
Provided by Chemical Abstract. Comprehensive database for the chemical literature. Use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. For chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. REQUIRES LOGIN. Scifinder Scholar - User Registration: First time users must register for an account. Once registered, you may access SciFinder on any internet device.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary scholarly database offering full-text coverage of information in many disciplines. This is an excellent database to begin research and find journal articles and other sources for most topics.
ProQuest Databases
Provides the option to search the ProQuest databases available to your institution individually or simultaneously.
Education Full Text
Provides coverage on the topics of secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and more. Full text coverage for 350 journals and additional indexing for another 770 periodicals.

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

NIST Online Databases
A collection of (mostly) free databases from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Research Library (ProQuest)
Research Library includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage from 1971-present.

MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE offers access to more than 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)
Provides full-text access to articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s, with links to full text articles and other related resources.

Search Science.gov (over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies).

If the full-text of an article is not available in our databases, you will see this button next to the reference:

Click on the button to see options to get the article:

SciFinder has its own full-text link that will take you to Find It @ UWG.

Use interlibrary loan to request journal articles that are not available in the library's print or online collection. Please note that

The average turnaround time for articles is 2-3 days but can be longer for certain titles.
Notifications will be sent to the email account used to register for ILLiad.
Articles must be downloaded from your ILLiad account within 30 days.

If you are a new user, please create an ILLiad account. You can set up your ILLiad account to use your UWG ID username and password, if you prefer.