LibGuides: SciFinder: SciFinder Introduction

Login to SciFinder

SciFinder-n
SciFinder Scholar is an online, user friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. | Scifinder Scholar - User Registration: Once you create a user name and password from on-campus, you should be able to access SciFinder on any internet-capable machine. You must complete this user registration before using the SciFinder Scholar database.

Scifinder-N: http://articles.westga.edu:2048/login?url=https://scifinder-n.cas.org/

Scifinder-N provides a new interface with all the Scifinder resources and services you already know.

One-time registration is required. Register for a Scifinder account using your westga.edu email account. Scifinder accounts will work as a Scifinder-N login.

Once registered, you can access SciFinder from any computer. To use SciFinder you must be current faculty, staff, or a registered student at UWG. SciFinder may be used for your own academic research only. You will be asked to agree to these conditions each time you log in to SciFinder.

What's In SciFinder?

SciFinder allows you to search five databases from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), plus MEDLINE.

CAPlus: The world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, CAPlus contains over 31 million records from more than 10,000 journals around the world, including 1500 core chemical journals. Patents are selected from over 35,000 International Patent Classification (IPC) codes and 99 U.S. National Patent Classification Codes.

CAS Registry: The most current and reliable collection of chemical substance information in the world, CAS REGISTRY contains over 50 million organic and inorganic substances and 62 million sequences. Approximately 12,000 new substances are added each day. The Registry can be searched by CAS Registry Number, name, molecular formula, structure, or substructure.

CASREACT: A reaction database with more than 29 million single- and multi-step reactions from the millions of published journal articles and patent documents selected for inclusion in Chemical Abstracts (CA). Thirty to 50 thousand single- and multi-step reactions are added each week.

CHEMCATS: Chemical Catalogs Online is a catalog database containing information about commerically available chemicals and their worldwide suppliers. Contains more than 43 million commerically available products from over 1200 chemical catalogs and 1100 suppliers. Coverage from 2007 to the present, with twice weekly updates.

CHEMLIST: Regulated Chemicals Listing is an electronic collection of thousands of chemical substances that are regulated in key markets across the globe. Contains more than 248,000 substances, with inventories and lists from 1979 to the present.

MEDLINE: Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains more than 18 million references covering all areas in the field of biomedicine. Abstracts are available for approximately half of the MEDLINE references. Coverage from 1947 to the present (abstracts available 1975-present), with articles from nearly 4,800 biomedical journals. Approximately 14,000 new references are added each week.

Structure Drawing Software

Discovery Studio Visualizer 3.0 is a free program from Accelrys that creates 3D models of chemical structures.

If you use ChemDraw, you can be taken directly to the relevant search results within SciFinder using the new Search SciFinder button in ChemBioDraw^® Ultra 14.