Databases & GALILEO A-Z List: S

Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s, based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana (Dictionary of Books Relating to America). Features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the early Republic, Jacksonian period, antebellum period, Civil War, Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West, and the Gilded Age. Includes published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and other genres.

SAGE Business Cases is a set of internationally-focused Business Cases, made available campus-wide and designed to engage students in applying core concepts from the global business world.

SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.

Chronicles entrepreneur, lawyer, and banker Samuel Hawkins' financial, agricultural, civic, and religious activities in Sumter County during the final months of Reconstruction. Diary entries illustrate Hawkins' work at the Bank of Americus, real estate interests, participation in Sumter County Agricultural Society and Horticulture Society, attendance at the 1877 Georgia State Agricultural Society meeting in Milledgeville, entrepreneurial interest in the Bell Cultivator, and role in the founding of the Americus Fair Association.

Collection of 4445 maps by the Sanborn Map Company depicting commercial, industrial, and residential areas for 133 municipalities. Originally designed for fire insurance assessment, the color-coded maps relate the location and use of buildings, as well as the materials employed in their construction. The maps indicate which city utilities - such as water and fire service - were available.

An extensive learning resource center for school library professionals. Learn the basics, grow your skills, and professional development for supervisors. Topics include collaboration, equity and inclusion, information literacy, inquiry, reading, and curriculum.

Contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science. Abstracting and indexing 1900 to present, full text 1911 to present.

A resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Features over 1600 titles, with more than 1270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. Journals cover hundreds of topics including physics, engineering, astronomy, earth science, and chemistry. 1986 to present.

Includes more than 2650 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines that connect with the historical record plus the most current research in any subject of interest. Provided by Elsevier.

Provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. 1945 to 2019.

Provided by Chemical Abstract. Comprehensive database for the chemical literature. Use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. For chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. REQUIRES LOGIN. Scifinder Scholar - User Registration: First time users must register for an account. Once registered, you may access SciFinder on any internet device.

Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials. Contains nearly 212,000 US and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Consists of 84 black-and-white photographs that depict the JA Jones Construction Company's World War II cargo ship building activities in its Brunswick, Georgia shipyard from 1943 to 1945. Images document the life cycle of the Liberty and Knot ships from keel-laying and hull construction to christening and launch. Construction techniques are visible in many of the photographs, and several images feature the shipyard's male and female laborers and management staff.

A multidisciplinary database designed for elementary, middle, and high school learners, researchers and educators covering areas such as, history, health, math, science, social studies and technology. Includes editorially selected, full-text articles and images from more than 2,000 global sources. Also offers supplemental curriculum and learning materials, including an educator's guide, student workbooks, citation guidelines, and research strategy worksheets.

Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended courts were still resolving issues emanating from slavery. ONLY AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS.

Includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations.

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1300 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. 1979 to current. ABSTRACTS ONLY.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1800 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. 1952 to current. ABSTRACTS ONLY.

Includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

An easy-to-use source for librarians, students and other researchers, provides illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and artists. Includes both the main Something About the Author series and the Autobiography series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.

Contains approximately 2000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. Documents include letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

The South's most important literary periodical. Widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but the contents of the magazine became increasingly partisan in the 1850s. By 1860 the magazine had shifted to a proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history, journalism, and literature can discern how the topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War

The best-known statistical reference publication in the country. The authoritative go-to source behind nearly every reference desk in US libraries. Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States; a snapshot of America and its people. Published by the US government 1878 to 2011, published by ProQuest 2011 to current.

A website with educator resources from the Consortium for the Advancement of Undergraduate Statistics Education. Resources include lesson modules, student activities, assignments, datasets, and videos. Also offers links to research and professional development opportunities. Part of the National Science Digital Library, supported by the National Science Foundation.