Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

A research guide for Art-related topics.

General

"Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages"

         From the STAMPS School of Art at the University of Michigan.

American Memory from the Library of Congress

A gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials.

Art History Resources on the Web

This is a site prepared by Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe at Sweet Briar College in Virginia. The site contains a good range of information designed for the scholar.

ArtSource

A gathering point for networked resources in art and architecture. This site is selective rather than comprehensive and contains resources submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians.

AIGA "Design Journeys"

From the website: “'Design Journeys' is a collection of stories about the professional lives, contributions, and portfolios of designers—contemporary and historical—from traditionally under-represented groups or backgrounds."

Dictionary of Art Historians

From the website: ". . .an index of art historians mentioned in major art historiographies. Additional names have been added to balance for gender or other neglected categories. Historians included here are the selection of the authors of those historiographies, and not generally the editor's. Some entries contain only marginal information. This site is not intended to be a Who's Who of Art Historians. The Dictionary of Art Historians is a work in progress."

UbuWeb

From the website: "UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts."

Processing.py

From the website: "Processing is a programming language, development environment, and online community. Since 2001, Processing has promoted software literacy within the visual arts and visual literacy within technology."

Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History Page

Has 17 categories that can be accessed from this page. The site is easy to use and has basic information. The page is maintained by Alan Liu.

World Wide Arts Resources

This site offers the definitive, interactive gateway to all exemplars of qualitative arts information and culture on the Internet. Artists, museums, galleries, art history, arts education, and antiques can be accessed. This site has a large volume of resources.

Museums

Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco

This site has more than 65,000 works by more than 15,000 artists.

Getty Museum

The J. Paul Getty Trust is an international cultural and philanthropic institution devoted to the visual arts and humanities that includes an art museum as well as programs for education, scholarship, and conservation.

National Gallery of Art

The Gallery's extensive collection of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper spans over 600 years of history from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Smithsonian American Art Museum

Very Good Site. NMAA's reference desk answers questions within five working days.

Art Education

Art Studio Chalkboard

A resource for artists and art students that deals with the technical fundamentals of perspective, shading, color and painting.

Crayola

Offers information for teachers and artists using Crayola products.

Kennedy Center ArtsEdge

Tool for teachers that includes art standards