Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

A research guide for Art-related topics.

Digital Collections

PRO TIP - Also check out the Visual Resources Center tab to the right!

ARTstor

  • ARTstor is an image collection that contains a wide variety of digital reproductions of artwork. You may also upload and organize your own images within "collections" that you create.

MDID

  • A collection of images from UWG's Visual Resources Center in support of Department of Art curricula, with examples of artwork from the prehistoric to the present. Highlights include modern and contemporary art, photography, Western and non-Western art, drawing, and sculpture and installation. MDID features slideshow and flashcard applications for collecting and presenting images. Images are also available to download for educational use as JPEGs, PDF compilations, and PowerPoint slideshows. Accessible to all UWG students and faculty through MyUWG login credentials.

Google Arts & Culture

  • A platform for accessing high resolution images from over 1000 Google partner museums and archives around the world.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

  • An OCLC database with images from museum collections, primarily in the United States, available for download.

Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog

  • Prints, photographs, and illustration from the Library of Congress archives, including landmark Civil War and WPA photography, the Master Drawings Collection, and historical images of US architecture.

The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art: Digital Database Collection

  • More than 200,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. Countries include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.

Baldy Editorial Cartoons: The Clifford H. Baldowski Collection

  • Political cartoons on local, national, and international news focusing on Georgia events and persons.

AIGA Design Archives

  • The AIGA archives and special collections serve to identify, preserve, and make collections of enduring value available to the public. With more than 20,000 selections dating back to 1924, the AIGA Design Archives is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.

Flickr Commons

  • The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Community Art in Atlanta, 1977-1987

  • Jim Alexander's Photographs of the Neighborhood Arts Center from the Auburn Avenue Research Library. Fifty-five documentary photographs of the Neighborhood Arts Center (1975-1989) that capture significant African American- centered cultural and community events in and around the Atlanta-based organization, a brainchild of the late mayor Maynard Jackson.

Historic Architecture and Landscapes of Georgia: The Hubert Bond Owens and John Linley Image Collections at the Owens Library

  • Landscape and Architecture Images from the UGA College of Environment and Design.

Vanishing Georgia

  • Nearly 18,000 photographs from the Georgia Archives documenting over 100 years of the state's history. Topics covered include, but are not limited to, family and business life, street scenes and architecture, agriculture, school and civic activities, important individuals and events in Georgia history, and landscapes.