Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

A research guide for Art-related topics.

Find Articles

Art Full Text

  • Art Full Text has full text articles from 170 art publications and abstracting and indexing from an additional 490 publications starting at 1997 to current year.

Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984

  • Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch.

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)

  • Arts & Humanities Database includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subjects covered include: art, design, crafts and photography; Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; architecture, interior design and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography and religion modern languages and literature; music, theatre, film and cultural studies.

Arts of the United States

  • Arts of the United States, a joint project between the Lamar Dodd Art School, University of Georgia and the University of Georgia and Yale University Libraries, contains over 4000 images of works important to the study of the history of art in the United States. The pieces, dating from the 17th century through the 20th, include architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, and stage and costume design as well as Native American art and artifacts. Although the majority of artists represented in the database are American, significant works created by non-native artists while in the United States are included.

ARTstor

  • ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Bibliography of the History of Art

  • Includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975–1989. Access provided by the J. Paul Getty Trust.

JSTOR

  • An electronic archive of journals and other materials relating to Art, among other subjects.

Project MUSE

  • Full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.

Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide (NCAW)

  • Founded in 2002, Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (NCAW) is a scholarly, refereed digital journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe.

 

When you get started on a research topic, it may be helpful to read an encyclopedia article or check a dictionary definition.  We have two good reference databases that contain these types of tools:

Credo Reference

  • Reference material covering all subjects from 440 encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as bilingual dictionaries.

Oxford Reference Online

  • Dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Other Databases That May Be Useful

Academic Search Complete at EBSCOhost

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Research Library (at ProQuest)

Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. 2,600+ publications.

Helpful Definitions

GALILEO: Stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online. This portal gives you access to multiple databases. To use GALILEO you must have permission to access it, which is provided through your library.

 

Resource Sharing: "Interlibrary Loan" is a general term for any system of sharing between libraries.  At Ingram (UWG Library) this department is called Resource Sharing.  It assists library users with getting access to materials that the user can not access on their own.