Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

A research guide for Art-related topics.

Online Sources (Art Specific and General)

PRO TIP - Don't use only our online reference sources, scroll down and use the print as well!

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online)

  • OAO is an arts specific database containig a collection of entries from various art encyclopedias and image collections. Users can also choose to view biographies or images when searching or browsing. 

Biography Reference Bank (EBSCO product)

  • B. Ref. Bank is a general (or not subject specific) database that contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books (published by H. W. Wilson) including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers throughout history.

Credo Reference

  • Credo Reference is a general database containing material (covering all subjects) from 440 encyclopedias and dictionaries (including bilingual dictionaries. In addition to print materials, Credo contains images, audio files, and videos. The database also offers 'Topic Pages' that summarize Credo and non-Credo information related to a topic on a single page.

History Reference Center (EBSCO product)

(History Reference Center - same database, generic EBSCO interface)

  • History Ref. Center is a full-text general history reference database featuring material from reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews

(UWG has limited access to Oxford Handbooks, if you find something that interests you, but is locked, contact nstuesse@westga.edu to see if we can unlock it for you)

  • OHO is a general database of materials from the published series of 'Oxford Handbooks', covering 14 subject areas. Each Oxford Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an argument for how those debates might evolve.  The OHO database also include additional articles, published digitally in the database to complement the materials pulled from the print handbooks. Each subject area within Oxford Handbooks Online is guided by the careful stewardship of an Editor in Chief and world-class Editorial Board who bring together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics.

Print Sources

Adams, L. (1999). Art across time. Boston: McGraw Hill.
[Ref Stacks N5300 .A3 1999]

Art history topics are covered as historical narrative in this resource.

Banham, J., & Shrimpton, L. (Eds.). (1997). Encyclopedia of interior design. London: Fitzroy Dearborn.
[Ref Stacks NK1165 .E48X 1997]

This two-volume encyclopedia contains entries on notable people and concepts relating to the field of interior design. Emphasis of coverage is given to 19th and 20th centuries.

Chilvers, I., & Osborne, H. (Eds.). (1988). The Oxford dictionary of art. New York: Oxford University Press.
[Ref Stacks N33 .O93 1988]

Contains numerous entries on people, places, and concepts within the realm of art.

Glaze, D., Mihajlovic, M., & Shrimpton, L. (Eds.). (1997). Dictionary of women artists. London: Fitzroy Dearborn.
[Ref Stacks N8354 .D53 1997]

This two-volume set contains, in addition to entries on individual artists, introductory surveys on women in the arts.

Riggs, T. (2002). St. James guide to Hispanic artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American artists. Detroit, MI: St. James Press.
[Ref Stacks N6538.H58 S7 2002]

Contains entries (and some essays) on selected hispanic visual artists.

Roberts, H. E. (Ed.). (1998). Encyclopedia of comparative iconography: Themes depicted in works of art. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn.
[Ref Stacks N7560 .E53 1998]

Contains entries on themes as expressed through art, with entries such as caricature and dreams.

Turner, J. (Ed.). (1996). The dictionary of art. New York: Grove.
[Ref Stacks N31 .D5 1996]

This multi-volume set contains a vast array of entries relating to art. Now available as part of Oxford Art Online.

Turner, J. (Ed.). (2000). Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean art. New York: Grove.
[Ref Stacks N6502 .E53 2000]

This single-volume encyclopedia contains entries covering all countries of the western hemisphere (except for Canada and the United States). The time period of coverage ranges from European colonization to the present.

 

24/7 Chat Assistance