Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish Language and Literature

Finding articles

When researching Spanish language or literature, you will want to consult the databases listed below. Some of these are in English and others are in Spanish.

 

MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography

  • Covers literary criticism
  • To search for criticism about a specific book, try searching the title both in its original Spanish and in English translation
  • Contains references to articles published in journals, individual chapters published in anthologies, and books
  • CAUTION: MLA also includes references to book reviews. If the record says "book review" it will not count as a source (but it might lead you to an interesting book)
  • To get the articles, books, and chapters, see the tab Find It @ UWG
    • This link does not work for books or book chapters. So if you want to find books or book chapters after seeing them in MLA, you have to search the title of the book in the UWG catalog. (not the title of the book chapter)

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

  • Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics
  • To get the articles, books, and chapters, see the tab Find It @ UWG

 

PRISMA, the full text for Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

  • Use PRISMA to get the full text for many of the articles in HAPI
  • Information about Latin America, the Caribbean, Latin Americans & Caribbeans in the diaspora and Hispanics in the United States
  • Links to some full-text articles, but is mostly an index (use Find it @ UWG to get article)
  • Contains references to articles in English, Spanish, Portuguese, German and French (limit by language if you do not want all those languages)
  • Indexes journals from 1970-present
  • Does not index books or include book chapters
  • Does not include articles about the Iberian Peninsula unless it is about relations between Iberian countries and Latin American countries
  • Only subject headings and keywords, no abstracts

 

Handbook of Latin American Studies

  • Available for free online (no login necessary)
  • Publication produced by the Library of Congress; entries written by experts in the field
  • Annotated bibliography of key books and articles published on specific topics
  • Not comprehensive
  • Coverage is 1935-present
  • Does not have "Find it @ UWG" button so you have to manually look up journals in the UWG Journal Finder and books in the UWG Catalog to see if UWG has them.

 

Redalyc

 

Dialnet

  • Available for free (no login necessary)
  • In Spanish
  • Produced by the Universidad de la Rioja, Spain
  • Limited search options: only author or words in the title
  • Use very broad search terms in order to get results
  • Many results will be full-text

 

Fuente Académica

  • In Spanish
  • Scholarly journals from Latin American & Iberia
  • Includes some full-text; use Find it @ UWG when Fuente Académica does not link to full-text

 

Special resource during COVID-19: Digitalia

  • Spanish, French, and other languages
  • Ebooks