Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sacred Harp singing: Home

Resources related to Sacred Harp singing held by Special Collections. To contact Special Collections, email special@westga.edu or visit https://www.westga.edu/library/special-collections/index.php

Sacred Harp singing

Relating to the Chattahoochee Convention

Chattahoochee Musical Convention, Earl V. Thurman, and Georgia Dept. of Archives and History. [Chattahoochee Musical Convention records, 1852-1971].

3 volumes

ML3111 .C43x 1972

 

Oral History collection

OH-0014 to OH-0017

Sacred Harp Singing at Wilson's Chapel (Chattahoochee Convention) on August 2, 1981.

Audio recordings

 

General Sacred Harp

Sacred Harp printed materials collection. MS-0054. Shelf 1024.

 

Myron W. House papers, MS-0053. Shelf 1026. See sub-series, Research files on Sacred Harp.

 

Audio

White, B. F. 1800-1879, Alan Lomax,  Recorded Anthology of American Music Inc., and Alabama Sacred Harp Convention. White Spirituals from the Sacred Harp. New York, N.Y.: New World Records, 1977.

1 disc

M2117.W59 W55x 1977

 

Denney, Dylan. Tommy Nunn, and Chattahoochee Sacred Harp Singing Convention (150th : 2002 ). Chattahoochee Sacred Harp Convention. [S.l.: s.n., 2002. Audio.

2 compact discs

M2101 .C52x 2002 Pt. 1

 

Denney, Dylan, and Chattahoochee Sacred Harp Singing Convention (150th: 2002). Chattahoochee Sacred Harp Singing Convention. 150th session. Day 2.  [S.l. : s.n., 2002] ([S.l.]: Oasis CD Manufacturing). Audio.

M2101 .C52x 2002 Pt. 2

 

Colored sacred harp, Recorded Anthology of American Music, Inc., and Wiregrass Sacred Harp Singers. The colored sacred harp. New York, N.Y.: New World Records, 1993. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2117 .C724X 1993

 

Unknown. Sacred harp singing. Cambridge, MA: Rounder, 1998. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2101 .S33X 1998

 

McGraw, Hugh, Daniel W. Patterson, and Southern Traditional Singers. The Social harp: early American shape-note songs. Somerville, Mass: Rounder Records, c1994. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2101 .S63X 1994

 

Unknown. The First National Sacred Harp sing: June 2d-29, 1980. Atlanta, Ga: Mobile Media, [between 1980 and 1985]. Audio.

8 sound cassettes, 2 copies

SPEC COLL LR(1) – In process of being cataloged (3/11/13)

 

Sacred Harp Publishing Company. Fasola is here to stay and Sacred Harp Bicentennial Celebration. Chicago, IL: Morning Trumpet, 1997. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2082 .F37X 1997

 

Unknown. Sacred harp singing at the old country church. [Chicago, Ill.?]: Morning Trumpet Recordings, 1997. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2101 .S34X 1997

 

Lomax, Alan. Harp of a thousand strings: all day singing from The sacred harp. Cambridge, Mass.: Rounder, 1998. Audio

1 sound disc

M2117.S23 H37x 1998

 

White, B. F., Wiregrass Sacred Harp Singers, and Recorded Anthology of American Music, Inc. Desire for piety: songs from B.F. White sacred harp. New York, NY: New World Records, 1997. Audio

1 sound disc

M2117 .D4X 1997

 

Lomax, Alan. And glory shone above: more all day singing from The sacred harp. Cambridge, Mass.: Rounder, 1998. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2117 .S23 A53X 1998

 

Phillips, Barry, and Shelley Phillips. Wondrous love. Felton, California: Gourd, 1994. Audio.

1 sound disc

M2080.5 .P55X 1994

 

Lanier, Trevor, Ann McCleary, University of West Georgia Center for Public History, and University of West Georgia Dept. of Music. Set your fields on fire: a collection of sacred music. Carrollton, GA: Center for Public History, University of West Georgia, 2005-. Audio.

Sound discs

M1999 .S47x 2005

 

Village Harmony (Musical group). Endless light: spiritual songs by a new generation. Plainfield, VT: Northern Harmony, [1997]. Audio

1 sound disc

M2080.5 .V55X 1997

 

Various artists. Goodbye, Babylon. Atlanta, GA: Dust-to-Digital, 2003. Audio.

6 sound discs

M2101 .G66x 2003

 

McGraw, Hugh. How to sing sacred harp music: its history and tradition. [Bremen, GA]: Unique Musical Services, 1984. Audio.

1 sound cassette

MT855 .M34X

 

Hauff, Judy, and University of Chicago Folklore Society. Can I leave you: the fourth annual Midwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention. Chicago, Ill.: Chicago Sacred Harp Singers, 1990. Audio.

1 sound cassette

M2101 .M54X 1989

 

Unknown. Favorite Songs. Bremen, Ga.: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., 198?. Audio.

1 sound cassette

M2101 .F38X

 

Unknown. Amazing grace. Bremen, Ga.: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., 198?. Audio.

1 sound cassette

M2101 .A62X

 

Hauff, Judy. Angels on the wing: American Christmas tunes from the shape-note tradition. Chicago: Chicago Sacred Harp Singers, 1989. Audio.

1 sound cassette

M2085 .H38X

 

Hauff, Judy. Help me to sing: the third annual Midwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention. Chicago: Chicago Sacred Harp Singers, 1988. Audio.

2 sound cassettes

M2101 .M54X 1988

 

Hauff, Judy. Return again. Chicago: Chicago Sacred Harp Singers, 1990. Audio

1 sound cassette

M2101 .M54X 1990

 

Feddersen, John. The complete sacred harp reference tapes. Bremen, Ga.: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., 1971. Audio.

4 sound cassettes

MT875 .C66X

 

Feddersen, John. Sacred harp learning resource tape. Bremen, Ga.: Sacred Harp Press, 1987. Audio.

1 sound cassette

MT875 .S33X

 

The below are part of the Oral History collection.

OH-0014 to OH-0017 Sacred Harp Singing at Wilson’s Chapel (Chattahoochee Convention) on August 2, 1981.

 

OH-0043 to OH-0044 Musical instruction for Sacred Harp singing, Singing School on June 7, 1982. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0045 Musical instruction for Sacred Harp singing, Singing School on June 8, 1982. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0047 Musical instruction for Sacred Harp singing, Singing School on  June 9, 1982. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0048 Musical instruction for Sacred Harp singing, Singing School on June 10, 1982. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0059 Sacred Harp Singing in Birmingham, 1942. Library of Congress Music Division Recording. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0068 Musical performance, Sacred Harp singing, Dewey P. Williams 85th birthday on March 6, 1983. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0085 to OH-0086 Musical performance, Sacred Harp singing n.d. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0089 to OH-0093 Musical performance, Sacred Harp singing n.d. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0099 to OH-0103 Musical performance, Sacred Harp singing  n.d. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0110 Musical recording, Primitive Baptist Hymns of the Blue Ridge n.d. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

OH-0149 to OH-0151 Musical performance, Sacred Harp singing on May 14, 1986. Tracks 1 and 2.

 

 

Video

Hinton, Matt, Erica Hinton, and Awake Productions. Awake my soul: the story of Sacred Harp. Atalanta, GA: Awake Productions, c2006. Video.

1 DVD videodisc

ML3188 .A93x 2006

 

Hinton, Matt, John Plunkett, Erica Hinton, and Awake Productions. Awake, my soul: the story of the Sacred Harp. Atlanta, GA: Awake Productions, c2007. Video.

2 disc special edition

ML3188 .A93x 2007

 

 

Musical Score

White, B.F. 1800-1879, and E.J. King. The sacred harp,. Nashville: Broadman Press, c1968.

M2117 .W59 S3 1859A

 

White, B.F 1800-1879, E.J. King, and J.L. White.  The sacred harp/. Atlanta:  J. L. White, 1911.

M2117 .W59 S3 1911

 

Jackson, J. (Judge), 1883-1958. The Colored sacred harp/. Ozark, Alabama: H.J. Jackson, 1983.

M2117 .C723 1983

 

Denson, T. J. (Thomas Jackson), 1863-1935. Original sacred harp: Denson revision: the best collection of sacred songs, hymns, odes and anthems, ever offered the singing public for general use. Haleyville, Alabama: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., c1936.

M2117 .W59 S3 1936

 

Denson, Owel W. “Original sacred harp,” Denson revision. 1960 supplement; a fine collection of hymns, class songs, and anthems.  Cullman, Alabama: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., c1960.

M2117 .W59 S3 1960

 

White, B. F. 1800-1879, E. J. King, T. J. Denson, and Paine Denson. Original sacred harp, (Denson revision);. Cullman, Alabama: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., [1971].

M2117 .W59 S3 1971

 

White, B. F. 1800-1879, E. J. King, T. J. Denson, and Paine Denson. Original sacred harp: (Denson revision); the best collection of sacred songs, hymns, odes, and anthems ever offered the singing public for general use. Cullman, Alabama: Sacred Harp Publishing Co, 1967.

M2117 .W59 S3 1967

 

White, B. F., E. J. King, and J. S. James. Original sacred harp: containing a superior collection of standard melodies, of odes, anthems, and church music, and hymns of high repute: rudiments, retaining all valuable standard regulations, arr. With all modern up-to-date improvements. Atlanta, Ga: [s.n.], 1911.

M2117 .W59 S3 1911b

 

White, B. F. 1800-1879. The B. F. White sacred harp: the selections are from the old Sacred Harp, remodeled and revised, together with additions from the most eminent authors, including new music. Samson, Alabama: Sacred Harp Book Co., [196-] c1949.

M2117 .W59 S3 1949

 

Sacred music songbooks. 1857-1977. LH-0002. Shelf 1023-1024.

 

Barker, Homer L. [Dr. Homer L. Barker 1884-1963]. LH-0008. Shelf 1021.

 

White B.F. The Sacred harp; a collection of psalm and hymn tunes, odes and anthems selected from the most eminent authors… Atlanta, Ga.: C.P. Byrd, [1870].

M2117 .W59 S3 1870

 

McCurry, John G. The Social harp. Daniel W. Patterson and John F. Garst, eds. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1973.

M2117 .M134 S6

 

Swan, M. L. The New harp of Columbia. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1978.

M2117 .N52 1978

 

Swan, M. L., and W.H. Swan. The new harp of Columbia. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1978.

M2117 .N52 2001

 

Old Stoughton Musical Society. The Stoughton Musical Society’s centennial collection of sacred music: consisting of selections from the earliest American authors, as originally written, together with a few selections from European and modern composers. New York, N.Y.: Da Capo Press, c1980.

M2117 .Q45 S8 1980

 

Walker, William. The Southern harmony & musical companion: containing a choice collection of tunes, hymns, psalms, odes, and anthems selected from the most eminent authors in the United States and well adapted to Christian churches of every denomination, singing schools, and private societies. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky, c1987.

M2117 .S74 1987

 

Walker, William. The southern harmony songbook. New York: Hastings House, 1939.

M2117 .W18 S5 1939a

 

 

Printed Materials

The Sacred Harp. 4th edition [1870].

 

Cobb, Buell E. The sacred harp: a tradition and its music. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1978.

ML3111 .C6

 

Boyd, Joe Dan. Judge Jackson and the Colored sacred harp. Montgomery, Ala: Alabama Folklife Association, c2002.

ML3188 .B69 2002

 

Ellington, Charles Linwood. The Sacred Harp tradition of the South: its origin and evolution. [s.l.], 1969.

ML3111 .E55 1969

 

Bradley, Lee. A lexical companion to the hymns of the Sacred harp. Valdosta, GA: Southern Conference on Language Teaching, SCOLT Publications, c2005.

ML102.H95 B73x 2005

 

James, J. S. b. A brief history of the Sacred Harp and its author, B.F. White, Sr., and contributors. Douglasville, Ga.: New South Book and Job Print, 1904.

ML3070 .J3 1904A

 

Unknown. Minutes of Carroll, Cobb, Coweta, Douglas, Floyd, Fulton, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, and Pope counties, Georgia, sacred harp singing. [N.p., n.d.]

ML3188 .M568x

 

Bealle, John. Public worship, private faith: sacred harp and American folksong. Athens: University of Georgia Press, c1997.

ML3188 .B43 1997

 

Miller, Kiri, John Plunkett, Earl V. Thurman, and Richard DeLong. The Chattahoochee musical convention, 1852-2002: a sacred harp historical sourcebook. Carrollton, Ga.: Sacred Harp Museum, 2002.

ML3111 .M534x 2002

 

Unknown. Minutes of Cleburne County Alabama Sacred Harp Singing. 1960.

ML3188 .M568x 1960

 

Unknown. Minutes of Cleburne County Alabama Sacred Harp Singing. 1964.

ML3188 .M568x 1964

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1952.

ML3188 .M568x 1952

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1953.

ML3188 .M568x 1953

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1954.

ML3188 .M568x 1954

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1955.

ML3188 .M568x 1955

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1956.

ML3188 .M568x 1956

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1959.

ML3188 .M568x 1959

 

Unknown. Minutes of Calhoun and Cleburne Counties Sacred Harp Singing. 1962.

ML3188 .M568x 1962

 

Unknown. Minutes of Carroll, Cobb, Coweta, Douglas, Floyd, Fulton, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, and Polk Counties, Georgia Sacred Harp Singing. 1957.

ML3188 .M568x 1957

 

Unknown. Minutes of Carroll, Cobb, Coweta, Douglas, Floyd, Fulton, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, and Polk Counties, Georgia Sacred Harp Singing. 1959.

ML3188 .M568x 1959

 

Unknown. Minutes of Carroll, Cobb, Coweta, Douglas, Floyd, Fulton, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, and Polk Counties, Georgia Sacred Harp Singing. 1963.

ML3188 .M568x 1963

 

Unknown. Minutes Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee Sacred Harp Singings. 1952.

ML3188 .M568x 1952

 

Unknown. Minutes Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee Sacred Harp Singings. 1953.

ML3188 .M568x 1953

 

Unknown. Minutes Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee Sacred Harp Singings. 1954.

ML3188 .M568x 1954

 

Unknown. Minutes Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee Sacred Harp Singings. 1955.

ML3188 .M568x 1955

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1957.

ML3188 .A433x 1957

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1958.

ML3188 .A433x 1958

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1959.

ML3188 .A433x 1959

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1960.

ML3188 .A433x 1960

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1961.

ML3188 .A433x 1961

 

Unknown. Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1962.

ML3188 .A433x 1962

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1963-1964.

ML3188 .D574x 1963-1964

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1964-1965.

ML3188 .D574x 1964-1965

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1965-1966.

ML3188 .D574x 1965-1966

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1967-1968.

ML3188 .D574x 1967-1968

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1968-1969.

ML3188 .D574x 1968-1969

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1969-1970.

ML3188 .D574x 1969-1970

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1970-1971.

ML3188 .D574x 1970-1971

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1971-1972.

ML3188 .D574x 1971-1972

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1972-1973.

ML3188 .D574x 1972-1973

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1973-1974.

ML3188 .D574x 1973-1974

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1974-1975.

ML3188 .D574x 1974-1975

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1975-1976.

ML3188 .D574x 1975-1976

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1976-1977.

ML3188 .D574x 1976-1977

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1977-1978.

ML3188 .D574x 1977-1978

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1978-1979.

ML3188 .D574x 1978-1979

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1979-1980.

ML3188 .D574x 1979-1980

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1980-1981.

ML3188 .D574x 1980-1981

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1982-1983.

ML3188 .D574x 1982-1983

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1983-1984.

ML3188 .D574x 1983-1984

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1984-1985.

ML3188 .D574x 1984-1985

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1985-1986.

ML3188 .D574x 1985-1986

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1986-1987.

ML3188 .D574x 1986-1987

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1987-1988.

ML3188 .D574x 1987-1988

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1988-1989.

ML3188 .D574x 1988-1989

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1989-1990.

ML3188 .D574x 1989-1990

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1990-1991.

ML3188 .D574x 1990-1991

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1991-1992.

ML3188 .D574x 1991-1992

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1992-1993.

ML3188 .D574x 1992-1993

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1993-1994.

ML3188 .D574x 1993-1994

 

Unknown. Directory and Minutes of Annual Sacred Harp Singings. 1994-1995.

ML3188 .D574x 1994-1995

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 1995-1996.

ML3188 .S237x 1995-1996

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 1996-1997.

ML3188 .S237x 1996-1997

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 1997-1998.

ML3188 .S237x 1997-1998

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 1998-1999.

ML3188 .S237x 1998-1999

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 1999-2000.

ML3188 .S237x 1999-2000

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2000-2001.

ML3188 .S237x 2000-2001

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2002-2003.

ML3188 .S237x 2002-2003

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2003-2004.

ML3188 .S237x 2003-2004

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2004-2005.

ML3188 .S237x 2004-2005

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2005-2006.

ML3188 .S237x 2005-2006

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2006-2007.

ML3188 .S237x 2006-2007

 

Unknown. Sacred Harp Singings. 2011-2012.

ML3188 .S237x 2011-2012