Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanistic Psychology and Human Consciousness collections

Selected primary source materials drawn from archival collections held by Special Collections. These selected digitized materials do not represent the entire contents of these boxes and folders.

Welcome - Guide to using the archival collections

Using the tabs at left, you can find selected primary source materials drawn from archival collections held in Special Collections. These selected materials do not represent the entire contents of these boxes and folders.

For more information, please contact special@westga.edu.

For our full finding aids database, please visit https://aspace-uwg.galileo.usg.edu/

Rare books and serials

Special Collections holds extensive rare print materials from the fields of Human Consciousness in particular. These materials include monographs and serial publications such as journals and newsletters. 

There are several major personal and organizational libraries within our collections. This includes the libraries of Ingo Swann, William G. Roll, Sidney Jourard (in the field of Humanistic Psychology), the Psychical Research Foundation library, and what is called colloquially as the "Hooks Books." 

The Hooks collection is a 1,600-volume library of 19th and 20th century books covering subjects such as life after death, extra sensory perception, out-of-body experiences, apparitions and altered states of consciousness.  It belonged to David Wayne Hooks and was acquired by Special Collections in association with the Psychical Research Foundation.

Locating Items in the Libraries Catalog & Using the Special Collections Research Room

You can search the libraries' catalog through a direct word or through a key word search. To see the contents of a person's library, like Ingo Swann's library, you can search Swann, Ingo as AUTHOR.

We are glad to help you in locating any book or serial of interest to you. Please reach out to us by email at special@westga.edu and we can schedule an in-person or on-video research appointment with you. 

Use of the rare print materials in our collections is through in-person use of the item in the Special Collections Research Room, or we can guide you on how to request a scan of an item through your academic or local library's Interlibrary Loan/Resource Sharing services.