Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Language and Literature

Finding articles

When researching French language or literature, you will want to consult the databases listed below..

 

MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography

  • Covers literary criticism
  • To search for criticism about a specific book, try searching the title both in its original French and in English translation
  • Contains references to articles published in journals, individual chapters published in anthologies, and books
  • CAUTION: MLA also includes references to book reviews. If the record says "book review" it will not count as a source (but it might lead you to an interesting book)
  • To get the articles, books, and chapters, see the tab Find It @ UWG
    • This link does not work for books or book chapters. So if you want to find books or book chapters after seeing them in MLA, you have to search the title of the book in the UWG catalog. (not the title of the book chapter)

Special resource during COVID-19: Digitalia

  • Ebooks and includes French

 

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

  • Includes references to articles and books about the French Caribbean
  • Limit by language to retrieve articles only in French or English
  • To get the articles, books, and chapters, see the tab Find It @ UWG

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

  • Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics
  • To get the articles, books, and chapters, see the tab Find It @ UWG

 

JSTOR

  • A digital journal storage repository that allows full-text searching

 

Historical Abstracts

  • History database about the world (not the US or Canada)

 

America History & Life

  • History database with articles only about the US, Canada, and their involvement in other countries.