The Civil War

A collection of over 10 billion records in more than 8000 databases. Content categories include: birth, marriage and death records; census records; immigration and travel; military; schools, directories and church histories; tax, criminal, land and wills; references, dictionaries and almanacs; stories and publications; and photos and maps. The databases also include WWI and WWII draft cards, obituaries dating back to the 1800s, Social Security Death Index, U.S. Federal Census, federal slave narratives and more. Allows researchers to search by geographic location. Updates continually, with more indexes and original images added all the time.

The sole authoritative record of the global abolition movement. This collection is made up of 14,000 primary source materials that include hand-written documents and rare publications. 1830 to 1865.

Contains various primary sources on the struggle for black freedom and civil rights. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.

These generals' reports of service represent an attempt by the Adjutant General's Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various generals contacted. Seeking both comprehensiveness and uniformity, the AGO requested of each general that he include certain kinds of information in his report. As a result, most of the reports consist of chronologically arranged sketches of activities associated with battles and other engagements.

A major resource for historians of the Americas, Britain, slavery, commerce, and the Atlantic. Provides users with access to primary source documents from the 16th to 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.

Chronicles Cyrus Franklin Jenkins' experiences as an enlisted man in the Meriwether Volunteers, Company B, 13th Georgia Infantry Regiment, during the first year of the war, June 1861 to March 1862. Vividly describes the early euphoria of the war and the regiment's campaigns in western Virginia as part of Floyd's Brigade and in Savannah in Lawton's Brigade. The regiment took part in skirmishes at Sewell Mountain, Laurel Hill, and Whitemarsh Island. While traveling, Jenkins also remarks on the changing scenery he encounters. His account of camp life highlights the medical care available to Confederate soldiers at this stage in the war. Jenkins was killed at Spotsylvania, Virginia, on May 12, 1864. Contains a transcription and images of the diary, a chronology of Jenkins' activities, a civil war timeline covering July 1861 to April 1862, a historical note, brief descriptions of the players and places mentioned by Jenkins, as well as suggested related archival collections and links to a civil war bibliography, related websites, and a map of the Gauley River region.

Digital images and transcriptions of original manuscripts, scanned, transcribed, and encoded. A Civil War diary of Lt. (later Capt.) Cornelius C. Platter from November, 1864 to April 27, 1865. Platter's diary from November, 1864 to April 27, 1865 details Sherman's march through Georgia from Rome to Savannah and the march north through the Carolinas. He gives dates, times, and lengths of marches; describes the weather, locale, scenery, and food as well as orders, rumors, positions, troop moral, and administrative duties. Includes a description of the burning of Columbia, South Carolina, the news of the Confederate surrender, and the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Also contains a Civil War timeline, related links and archival collections, suggested readings, a name index, and notes on the project.

Include information on city activities and finances, commercial statistics, health including death and illness statistics, and information on trade, public schools, weather, charitable institutions and city ordinances. The documents also include reports of the City Attorney, the Police Department (including crime statistics), the City Engineer, the Fire Department (including statistics on fires and property losses), and the Board of Trade, among others.

The site contains images of the 61 albumen prints found in early American photographer and member of the Matthew Brady studio, George N. Barnard's 1866 Photographic Views of Sherman's Campaign. Subjects of the photographs include Sherman and his generals, Nashville, Chattanooga Valley, Atlanta, and Savannah. Barnard was the official photographer for the United States Army, Chief Engineer's Office, Division of the Mississippi.

Records of the Freedman's Bureau documenting the 1868 Camilla Massacre. Located at the DeSoto Trail Library and comprised of photostatic copies from the Freedman's Bureau records held by the National Archives of the United States, consists of letters, affidavits, reports and a newspaper clipping relating to a violent episode in Camilla, Georgia, in 1868 involving local republicans, freedmen, and townspeople.

A gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. To search or browse the holdings of the Digital Library of Georgia, visit the DLG homepage at: https://dlg.usg.edu/ A complete listing of digital collections available through the DLG is at: https://dlg.usg.edu/collections

Provides online access to approximately 50,000 black and white aerial photographs and indexes of selected counties from the State of Georgia.

Maintains a web site of information on its organization, collections, and services. Its mission is to identify, select, preserve, and ensure the accessibility of government and other information constituting Georgia's recorded history, including the official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. In addition, it collects private manuscripts and photographs which complement existing archival holdings. Links to online publications, finding aids, and other web sites related to Georgia history and genealogy are provided.

Digitized selections from the Joseph Henry Lumpkin family papers consist of letters dated 1850-1861 (mostly 1852-1856) to Callie Lumpkin King, wife of Alabama lawyer and plantation owner Porter King and daughter of Joseph Henry Lumpkin. Correspondents include Sallie (Baxter) Bird, wife of Hancock County plantation-owner Edgeworth Bird; King's husband Porter; Thomas Read Rootes Cobb, her brother-in-law; and other Lumpkin family members. The letters touch on family life, local and national politics, marriage, and the social life in Athens, Georgia.

Robert E. Williams operated a photography studio, R. Williams and Son, in Augusta, Georgia, from 1888 until around 1908. Collection consists of images of 84 glass plate negatives and positive prints of African Americans in the Augusta, Richmond County, Georgia area. Photographs depict dwellings and domestic chores, rituals of baptism, harvesting and transporting cotton, vehicles and transportation, and children and family life. 1872 to 1898.

Documents consist of correspondence from Robert Toombs to his wife, Julia Ann DuBose Toombs in Washington, Wilkes County, Georgia from 1850-1867. Letters come from Washington, D.C. while he served in the U.S. Senate (1850-1859); from Virginia (1862) and Atlanta, Georgia (1864) during the Civil War; and from Paris (1866-67) following the war, while he was in exile. Generally discusses current events; land holdings in South Georgia, Alabama, and Texas; people; other soldiers; and wish to be with wife and family.

Chronicles entrepreneur, lawyer, and banker Samuel Hawkins' financial, agricultural, civic, and religious activities in Sumter County during the final months of Reconstruction. Diary entries illustrate Hawkins' work at the Bank of Americus, real estate interests, participation in Sumter County Agricultural Society and Horticulture Society, attendance at the 1877 Georgia State Agricultural Society meeting in Milledgeville, entrepreneurial interest in the Bell Cultivator, and role in the founding of the Americus Fair Association.