LibGuides: Databases & GALILEO A-Z List: G

G

GAfutures
A resource from the Georgia Student Finance Commission for those who are interested in attending college explore careers, prepare for college and learn about financial aid opportunities. Resources include tools for matching students to careers; detailed information on specific careers; SAT, ACT, and GRE test preparation; tools for comparing Georgia colleges and universities; online forms for loan applications, FAFSA, and Hope Scholarship / Tuition Equalization Grant; and tools for financial planning. Users can create a personal account that allows them to manage all their college and career information and can share their information with school counselors.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Provides access to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Focuses on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design & history. Covers more than 300 serial titles.
Gateway-Beacon (Haralson County, GA)
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Gateway-Beacon. Covers 2009 to current.
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
Georgia Administrative Rules and Regulations
An electronic version of the Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia. This is a compilation of the rules and regulations of state agencies that have been filed with the Office of Secretary of State pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-1 et seq. The electronic version of the Rules and Regulations on this website should not be regarded as the official copy. This site is searchable by the name of the agency, chapter/rule number, the name of the rule itself, or a specific rule number.
Georgia Aerial Photographs
Provides online access to approximately 50,000 black and white aerial photographs and indexes of selected counties from the State of Georgia.
Georgia Attorney General's Office
The Georgia Attorney General's Office maintains a web site of information on its staff, history, mission, organization, etc. The site also provides the ability to search the opinions of the Attorney General (1994-present).
Georgia Census Data
Provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau's State and County Quick Facts data for Georgia. Broken into three sections: People Quick Facts, Business Quick Facts, and Geography Quick Facts, the site offers a break down of some of the key statistics associated with Georgia. Data can be limited to a specific county of city.
Georgia Code
The Georgia Code, hosted by LexisNexis, is the compilation of the currently enforcable laws of the state of Georgia. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number. The code can also be browsed by title, chapter, and section.
Georgia Corporate Search
Georgia Corporate Search lists all organizations or individuals licensed for business, provided by the Georgia Secretary of State. Information provided for each license holder includes: address, chief executive officer, secretary, and chief financial officer
Georgia DATA
Provided by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government, Georgia DATA is Georgia's central data repository. Provides the public with quick and easy access to Georgia county and state data. Georgia Data Includes information on agriculture, courts and crime, education, economics and finance, health, government, housing, and more
Georgia Degrees Pay
All the information you need about degree attainment, student success, costs and affordability at the University System of Georgia's 26 public colleges and universities. By prioritizing degree attainment, affordability and efficiency, our USG institutions are doing all they can to help students and their families decide on a degree program, make financial plans and earn a college degree that sets a solid foundation for their future. See why USG is one of the best public systems in the nation, and use our matching tool to find which USG institutions may work best for your needs.
Georgia Department of Archives & History
Maintains a web site of information on its organization, collections, and services. Its mission is to identify, select, preserve, and ensure the accessibility of government and other information constituting Georgia's recorded history, including the official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. In addition, it collects private manuscripts and photographs which complement existing archival holdings. Links to online publications, finding aids, and other web sites related to Georgia history and genealogy are provided.
Georgia Department of Education
Provides access to information about K-12 public education in the State of Georgia. Links to listings of schools, state curriculum and standards, contact information, as well as information about the department can all be found on the site.
Georgia General Assembly Legislative Services
Provides access to both Georgia House and Senate bills. The database is searchable by keyword, bill number, code section, authors, co-signers, and committee sponsors. Also provided are the governor's budget and committee meeting schedules.
Georgia Government Publications
Serves as a digital repository of over 44,000 documents and publications released by agencies of Georgia's executive branch. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation.
Georgia Historic Books
The Georgia Historic Books database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.
Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized historical newspapers from around Georgia. The archive is free and open for public use. 1847 to 1922.
Georgia History Ebooks (University of Georgia Press)
Includes early and seminal works on Georgia's history and culture, many published in the 1950s and 1960s that have long been out of print. Users also have the option of ordering print copies of these titles from the University of Georgia Press. Books in the University of Georgia Press History Ebook Project will be of interest to two main groups: historians and general readers of Georgia history.
Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR)
A central metadata repository that contains metadata harvested via the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH) and the Open Archives Initiative Object Reuse and Exchange (OAI-ORE). With this repository, citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large are able to search Georgia repository content from a central location.
Georgia Legislative Documents
Provides access to legislative resources. The database currently contains the Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia for the years 1799-1999, with a few gaps.
Georgia Library Catalogs
Georgia Library Catalogs provides links to the online library catalogs for institutions that participate in GALILEO. Includes University System of Georgia libraries, private academic libraries, technical colleges, and public libraries.
Georgia Library PINES (Public Information Network for Electronic Services)
Georgia's public library automation and lending network for 249 libraries in 127 counties. Half of Georgia's population and 44 of Georgia's 58 public library systems rely on the PINES network for their library service. Creates a statewide "borderless library" that eliminates geographic barriers. Georgians with a PINES library card have access to materials beyond what is available on their local shelves and enjoy the benefits of a shared collection of 7.7 million books and materials that can be delivered to their home library with no charge to the library user.
Georgia Official and Statistical Register: "Georgia's Blue Book"
Considered an important reference work for historical research. Covers Georgia's executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, providing biographical sketches of elected and other state officials. Includes Georgia members of U.S. Congress, federal judges, county officials, and regents of the university system. Contains election returns, provide basic reference data on Georgia counties, and covers Georgia miscellany, such as the state flag, state flower, state song, rosters of Georgia governors, and legal holidays.
Georgia ONmyLINE (GOML)
the system-wide catalog of online courses and programs offered by institutions in the University System of Georgia. The Georgia ONmyLINE catalog is searchable by institution, degree level, academic discipline and mode of delivery.
Georgia Public Library Services
Provides access to information about public libraries across the state of Georgia for librarians, public library patrons, kids, and trustees. From the website, you can get the latest news and information, download publications and forms, and access tools and resources related to providing quality library services to Georgia citizens of all ages.
Georgia State Agencies, Councils and Commissions
Georgia State Agencies, Councils and Commissions provides links to web sites maintained by many state agencies.
Georgia State Fair, Macon, 1886-1960
Consists of 151 black-and-white photographs and 4 advertising fliers, from the Georgia State Fair records held by the Middle Georgia Archives at the Macon-Bibb County Public Libraries. Most of the photographs depict county agricultural exhibits whose function was to promote a variety of farm produce and homemade items. Exhibits from the early 1940s are of interest due to the appearance of slogans supporting the World War II home front effort. Displays for agricultural associations and state government agencies can also be seen in this collection. Other photographs capture fair culture beyond the exhibitions. 1886 to 1960.
Georgia State University Electronic Theses and Dissertations
A collection of original work by students of Georgia State University in partial fulfillment of the requirements for graduate degrees. Search fields include last name, title of the document, department, abstract, availability, and type of document. The database can also be searched by advisor's name or keyword.
Georgia Stories
Supports the Georgia Social Studies curriculum for 8th grade students. And anyone interested in Georgia history. Site is coordinated with the Georgia Stories series produced by Georgia Public Broadcasting Education. Each potential study topic includes many educational resources. There are 107 Georgia Stories video segments, each linked to a specific Georgia Performance Standard to aid educators who need to teach state-mandated topics in Georgia history. Search for a performance standard on the Georgia Stories site, or browse an index, and be provided with a list of all related Stories.
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations
A collection of original work by students of the Georgia Institute of Technology in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy or a Master of Science, 2003 to present. Institute of Paper Science and Technology documents available from 1931 to 2004. In addition to the search field, the database can be browsed by title, author, subject, and date.
georgia.gov
georgia.gov is the online connection to the State of Georgia. It provides to access information on the many services and programs available in Georgia. In additional to legislative and government agency information, there are links to resources for travel information about the state, local and regional government, and the governor's office.
Global Breaking Newswires (ProQuest)
Newswires are the chief source of timely news and are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the familiar & popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Enables users to search the most recent global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s; from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Google News: U.S.
Google News U.S. provides access to news reports and stories from a variety of news sources across the country including, newspapers, news magazines, AP, Reuters, news television, and news blogs.
Google News: World
Google News World provides access to news reports and stories from a variety of news sources across the globe including, newspapers, news magazines, AP, Reuters, news television, and news blogs.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Govinfo
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, and government documents and reports. Contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for a few selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Abstracts and indexing 1913 to present; full text 1999 to present.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America (ONLY AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS)
Contains essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States. ONLY AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS.