Databases & GALILEO A-Z List: N

Created through a partnership between NASA and the Internet Archive to bring public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource. Includes classic photos, educational programming, high-definition video, and more. New and archived media from all of NASA's centers are continually being added. Images of the Earth, the solar system, and more.

Established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but major holdings date back to 1775. Keeps only those Federal records that are judged to have continuing value. By now, they add up to a formidable number, diverse in form as well as in content. Approximately 10 billion pages of textual records; 12 million maps, charts, and architectural and engineering drawings; 25 million still photographs and graphics; 24 million aerial photographs; 300,000 reels of motion picture film; 400,000 video and sound recordings; and 133 terabytes of electronic data. All of these materials are preserved because they are important to the workings of Government, have long-term research worth, or provide information of value to citizens.

Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. Allows researchers to search across several databases. Includes PubMed and biomedical and genomic information.

Features the complete archive of the award-winning iconic National Geographic magazine with its unparalleled in-depth coverage of world cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. This comprehensive archive which includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface, is an essential tool for researchers of all ages for the study of science, nature, geography and much more. 1888 to 1994.

The GALILEO Resource Guide for National History Day provides a list of helpful resources for NHD students and teachers.

Established by the National Science Foundation as an online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research. Provides an organized point of access to STEM content that is aggregated from a variety of other digital libraries. Also provides access to services and tools that enhance the use of this content in a variety of contexts. Designed primarily for K-16 educators, but anyone can access and search the library at no cost. Some content providers may require additional login.

An encyclopedia of Georgia. Provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. Includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

Unlimited access to the New York Times journalism. Requires a registration with your UWG email. Registration Instructions

New York Times is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue. 1980 to current; New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine 1997 to current.

Offers international, national, regional, and local papers including. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. Also includes exclusive access to 85 full-text newspapers from Gannett, plus an additional 7 U.S. military titles. Gannett newspapers span 30 states.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century

The most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in 19th century Britain ever made available in a digital collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers Part I and Part II provide a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age.

Provides online access to a historical film depicting the extensive damage from the severe multi-funnel tornado strike that devastated Gainesville, Georgia, on April 6, 1936. The film focuses on the devastation of the commercial and governmental center of Gainesville, but also includes footage of damage to nearby residential areas. The tornado is generally regarded as the fifth deadliest in U.S. history. Extensive recovery efforts involving many local, regional, state, and national resources eventually rebuilt Gainesville, culminating in the 1938 dedication of the new city hall and county courthouse by President Franklin Roosevelt. The site provides an introductory essay, as well as a multi-media exhibition on the tornado and the extensive recovery effort afterwards. An interactive map offers geographically-based access to selected film clips for which shooting locations have been identified.

An online readers' advisory tool aimed at elementary and middle school students. It helps readers find new books and audiobooks based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. Provides enhanced subject access to thousands of fiction and nonfiction titles along with book reviews or annotations. Also includes booktalks, picture book extenders, and Curricular Connections articles that will guide faculty to new titles and new ways for translating curriculum standards into classroom action.

An online tool that helps readers find new books and audiobooks based on books they've read or on topics they are interested in. Provides enhanced subject access to thousands of fiction and nonfiction titles along with book reviews or annotations. Find new books to read; print a list of all the books in the series; search for new books and authors similar to others you have enjoyed; look for a book about a particular subject, relationship, geographic area, or period of time; and review award-winning books.

Provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. Also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute, including Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. In addition, study paths are provided to find key topics and recommended reading. The curriculum-based topic tree connects users to appropriate articles on specific topics. A board of experienced nurse educators have hand-selected the most relevant results for a wide range of subjects. 1986 to present.

Over 400 indexed journals and periodicals that are central to the working needs of nursing and allied health professionals. Also has a core set of journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins covering everything from oncology to critical care and administration. This database works a bit differently than other library resources, users are encouraged to use phrases and sentences and not use Boolean searching that combines keywords.