Skip to Main Content

Biochemistry

A guide to Biochemistry resources at Ingram Library and beyond.

Genome Databases

Please see the Microbiology Libguide for prokaryotic genomes.

FlyBase
A database of Drosophila genes and genomes.
Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI)
An international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data.
more...less...
The projects contributing to this resource are:

• Mouse Genome Database (MGD) Project (gene characterization, nomenclature, mapping, gene homologies among mammals, sequence links, phenotypes, allelic variants and mutants, and strain data);

• Gene Expression Database (GXD) Project (searchable index of published experiments on endogenous gene expression during development);

• Mouse Tumor Biology (MTB) Database Project (frequency, incidence, genetics, and pathology of neoplastic disorders);

• Gene Ontology (GO) Project at MGI (a founding member of the Gene Ontology Consortium); and

• MouseCyc Project at MGI (Mus musculus metabolism).

Study Aids and Tutorials

Sumanas, Inc. Animated Tutorials: Molecular Biology
Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines.

Proteins & Nucleic Acids

Protein Data Bank (PDB)
Contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. (RCSB)
more...less...
PDB also provides a variety of tools and resources. Users can perform simple and advanced searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function. These molecules are visualized, downloaded, and analyzed by users who range from students to specialized scientists.
Nucleic Acid Database
A repository of three-dimensional structural information about nucleic acids.