LibGuides: Education: Special Education Resources

Special Education Resources

Special Education research crosses a number of disciplines such as education, medicine, psychology, sociology, and even business. If someone needs medicine articles, they may not be interested in chemistry or biology sources. So each of the library databases focuses on a specific area of interest. For the best results, choose a database that would best cover your topic. A full list of our databases is sorted by topic on the Databases and Galileo page.

Ask yourself, Where on campus would I go to learn about this topic?

Recommended Education Resources

Education databases cover most topics that focus on the classroom and school experience. Examples:

What teaching method is best for teaching dyslexic students to read?
Should special education students be integrated in the traditional classrooms? How much?
How can a teacher engage with an autistic child during small group instruction?
How can disabled children be included in recess and other physical activities?

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
Education Full Text
Provides coverage on the topics of secondary education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards and more. Full text coverage for 350 journals and additional indexing for another 770 periodicals.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements. Covers primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Recommended Psychology Resources

Psychology databases cover most topics that focus on mental health issues, diagnoses, causes, and treatments. It focuses on the well being of the subjects rather than their practices within the classroom. Examples:

What are the warning signs of schizophrenia in college students?
How do interpersonal relationships affect depression in teenagers?
What are effective ways of comforting bullying victims targeted due to physical disabilities?

PsycINFO (ABSTRACTS ONLY)
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Includes international material selected from more than 2200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887 to present. ABSTRACTS ONLY.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
A full-text database targeted for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals on topics, such as child and adolescent psychology, counseling, anthropology and experimental methods. 1945 to present.
ProQuest Psychology Database
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.

Recommended Sociology Databases

Sociology databases covers the social life and issues that may affect your students at home and in school. Examples include:

What is the relationship between preschool graphomotor skills and their environment?
What kinds of familial support means best academic achievement for autistic children?
What are effective school based community mental health interventions for families with substance abuse problems?

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1800 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. 1952 to current. ABSTRACTS ONLY.
Sociological Collection (EBSCO)
Includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Recommended Business Databases

Business databases cover the financial cost and programs for special needs students and supporting staff. They can also include articles on things like grant funding, personnel issues like burnout and recruitment, and tuition costs. Examples include:

What is the impact of charter schools on local public schools special education support and funding?
Which e-learning systems are cost effective for supporting special needs students?
How can career readiness programs in High School best prepare special needs students for transition to business?

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
A comprehensive business database covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Databases at ProQuest
Combined search of all ProQuest business databases. Databases relevant to business and economics including: ABI/INFORM; Accounting, Tax & Banking; Asian & European Business; Business Market Research; Canadian Business & Current Affairs; ProQuest Research Library; Telecommunications Database.
Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It provides detailed company information for some of the world’s largest public and private companies ss well as conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.