Welcome to the Research Guide for the Counselor Education and College Student Affairs programs in the Department of Clinical and Professional Studies!
In this guide we try to address the usual questions you will have about doing library research. This is not a substitute for getting live research help -- just a reference for you. If you need live research help, scroll down to the embedded appointment request form to meet with one of the education librarians.
PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, and pharmacology.
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
There are many places to find articles for Education-related research. We recommend starting the Education databases for most topics. Each database contains different materials so try several databases to get all the resources on your topic. Depending on your topic, you may want to try databases in other fields, like sociology, business, computer science, or psychology.
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
Excellent full text coverage of a wide variety of education and related topics. Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of similar themes.
A specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for searchable full text 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.
Library Science Databases (includes school media and information literacy topics)
Many of our subject databases have dissertations listed in them that are specific to that area of study. We particularly recommend the following databases for full text education dissertations. Others you may need to request by filling out the Dissertation form on ILLiad. To find dissertations, go into our recommended databases that cover its discipline and do a search. Then choose dissertations on the left side menu of the results page. Your subject librarian can help you find dissertations on your topic, if needed.
Covers all aspects of education and educational research and provides access to education-related resource such as conference proceedings and selected presentations; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations.
