Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Graduate Students

Information about accessing information.

Finding articles

PsycINFO

As a Psychology student, you will probably use the PsycINFO database on a regular basis.

Here are some features of PsycINFO:

Full-text vs Citations - What's the difference? A citation is information about an article or research study - title, where and when it was published, an abstract that summarizes the article. It may or may not include access to the article, such as a PDF or an html file.

If the full text is not available in PsycInfo, look for a link to check for full text in other databases.

When the button is working right, that currently looks like this:  

But it's currently showing up in another browser like this: 

Either option will link you to a tool that searches all of our subscription resources for access to the full text of that article.

If none of the databases we have access to has the article and we don't have the print version of our journal in our collection, then you can use ILL to get it. Most ILL article requests can be filled within a day or two, but can take up to a week, so make sure you leave some time in your research schedule for this possibility.

Since PsycINFO also contains citations for books, you may see a link to the library catalog. In that case, if we own it, the book is located in Ingram Library's collection. If we do not own it, you can search the GIL Universal catalog to see if it is available in another USG library. If so, you can use GIL Express to have the book delivered to Ingram Library. If not, you may put in a request through ILL.

To recap the steps you will need to take to access the full text when PsycInfo does not have it as a pdf:

Articles

  1. The article may be located in another database. In that case, simply click on the database title and search for the article there.
  2. The article may be available in a print journal that we have in our periodicals collection (downstairs next to the Murphy Office).
  3. The article is not available in any of our online databases or our print collection. In that case, you'll need to make an ILL request to get the article.

Books

  1. The book may be in Ingram Library's collection. In that case, a link to the catalog will appear. Look up the book by title or author to get the call number so you can retrieve it from the shelves.
  2. If the book is not in the Ingram Library collection, it may be available from another university library in Georgia using GIL Express. The book will normally be delivered within 2-3 days, and you can pick it up from the library's Check-out desk.
  3. If the book is not available in any state university library, you may submit an ILL request to get the book.
    1. Other Databases for Finding Articles

      Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

       

      Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

      Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Information given on instruments includes test name and classification, author(s), publisher, publication date, price, time requirements, existence of validity and reliability data, score descriptions, levels, and intended populations. Published reviews of the tests are referenced. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

      Tests in Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. It serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.

      Psychology Journals

       

      MULTI-DISCIPLINARY

      Academic Search Complete

      • Available via EBSCO http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zbac
      • Good place to start for a sampling of information across the disciplines
      • Indexes over 10,000 journals with nearly half fulltext
      • Includes scholarly and popular material

       

      Dissertation and Theses with Full Text

       

      A complete list of the databases to which you have access as a UWG student can be found here: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/databases/all/ . You will need a password to access them. There is one generic password for all students and it changes each semester. To get the current password go to http://www.westga.edu/library/index_12219.php and follow the instructions there.

       

       


       

      Finding Specific Journals

      Journal Locator

      The Journal Locator helps locate specific journals indexed within Galileo databases.  For instance, if you were searching for Journal of Occupational Psychology, simply type the name into the search box and click Find Databases.  A listing of databases that index the journal will be displayed, along with coverage dates and also any embargo information.  You may also browse the journals by clicking on the letters above the search box.