Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science

A guide to books, websites and databases related to the field of Computer Science

Computer Science Information

The WWW Virtual Library Computing and Computer Science--Provides links to a variety of topics from Artificial Intelligence to Web Design.

arXiv.org--Open accesss to over 300,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology.

Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing(FOLDC)--Allows you to search for the definition of computer terms.

National Academies Press--Offers over 3000 books online for free and more than 900 pdfs for sale.

Directory of Open Access Journals Technology and Engineering--Computer Science--Lists 69 journals with topics that range from telecommunication to artificial intelligence. All articles are full text pdf.

Technology Review--Published monthly by MIT examines new and emerging technology.

TechWeb's TechEncyclopedia--Searchable database of more than 20,000 computer terms.

NIST Virtual Library--Provides links to databases, associations, quick reference and a variety of Internet resources.

Science.gov--The federal government's database of science web sites by topic.

CiteSeer.IST Scientific Literature Digital Library--Allows users to search for computer related topics. It provides an abstract of the article and the number of times cited. Many articles are full text pdf.

Creating Presentations

The Writing Center at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

This site provides a basic overview on how to develop an effective presentation.

Presentation Helper--presentation landing page

This site contains a variety of information about creating effective presentations and speeches.

Writing Guides

The websites listed below will help you with citation styles and formatting.

Perdue Online Writing Lab

This comprehensive website from Perdue University covers a number of writing and research topics.

UW Madison Writing Center's Writing Handbook

This is another excellent site that provides resources on the mechanics of writing a paper.

Strunk, William, Jr. 1918. The Elements of Style

This online resource provides basic information about grammar and writing.