Welcome to the Research Guide for the Doctoral Program in Higher Education Administration!
In this guide we try to address the usual questions you will have about doing library research. This is not a substitute for getting live research help -- just a reference for you. We recommend starting with the databases listed below to find books and articles on your topic.
Once you have some resources on your topic, follow the instructions in the Web of Science User Guide to do cited-reference searching (to see who has cited the same sources you are going to use).
Of course, at any time in this process you can contact us to Get Help! The Education Librarian can be found on the left side menu of each page.
There are many places to find articles for Education-related research. We recommend starting the Education databases for most topics. Depending on your topic, you may want to try databases in other fields, like sociology, business, or psychology.
Provides news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators, serving as a major news service for US academic affairs. Excellent resource for recent trends and events in higher ed. All content from 1989 to present is available.
Many of our subject databases have dissertations listed in them that are specific to that area of study.
Proquest Education in particular has a ton of dissertations. ERIC also has a large number of dissertations indexed in it. Some you will be able to access right away by clicking the Full Text PDF button. Others you will need to request by filling out the Dissertation form on ILLiad. Whether or not it is immediately available has a lot to do with copyright and library contracts for different databases. To find them, go into the database and do a search. Then choose dissertations on the left side menu.