LibGuides: Racial Justice: Library Databases

The Ingram Library has purchased these resources and is pleased to make them available.

Please note that access to any full-text resources discovered on this list of Ingram Library Databases may require a University of West Georgia NetID and Password for access.

The list is divided into two sections. Scroll Down to see them both. The first includes General Databases, which provide information on a wide variety of topics. The second box contains subject-specific databases.

HINT: When using these databases, consider combining search terms using "And" "Or" and "Not" in the search boxes.

Samples: "Racial Justice" AND "Elementary Education"

"Racial Justice" AND "Protests"

General Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary scholarly database offering full-text coverage of information in many disciplines. This is an excellent database to begin research and find journal articles and other sources for most topics.
CQ Researcher
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Films on Demand
Consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1250 segments).
JSTOR
Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Newspapers at ProQuest
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers: Atlanta Journal Constitution; Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post...and many more... Includes ProQuest Newsstand, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Newspapers.

Databases by Subject

African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947
Digitized archives and manuscripts collection of the National Negro Congress, which organization was established in 1936 to 'secure the right of the Negro people to be free from Jim Crowism, segregation, discrimination, lynching, and mob violence' and 'to promote the spirit of unity and cooperation between Negro and white people.' 98,600 images dated 1933-1947.
Black Freedom History Vault
Contains various primary sources on the struggle for black freedom and civil rights. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement. Links to primary sources and other educational materials from 75 libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. Features a collection of more than 30 hours of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives. These 450 clips cover a broad range of key civil rights events including the desegregation of Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas; the Atlanta Temple bombing; Atlanta sit-ins; Freedom Rides; desegregation of the University of Georgia and Georgia Tech; the Albany Movement; desegregation of Ole Miss and University of Alabama; the Americus Movement; and Birmingham demonstrations; among many other topics. 1954 to 1970.
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
This archive, from the NYPL's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, documents the Civil Rights Congress. The CRC was established in 1946 to "combat all forms of discrimination against …labor, the Negro people and the Jewish people, and racial, political, religious, and national minorities." 1946 to 1955.

Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
A fulltext, full image database of the FBI's previously classified files on prominent African Americans and African-American organizations. Includes about 88,000 pages of documents and published material such as newspaper clippings, transcripts of public meetings and speeches, and reports of special agents, which sometimes refer to information provided by confidential informants. Subjects of the investigations include Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Paul Robeson, Thurgood Marshall, the NAACP, the SNCC, the Black Panther Party, and the Highland Folk School. 1920 to 1984.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security; as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.

African-American Newspapers
A growing collection of African American newspapers starting at 1827. The collection covers all phases of American history: The Antebellum South, abolition, the Jim Crow era, Northern Migration, and the Civil Rights Movement. The completed collection will contain 270 newspapers from 35 states.
African-American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
African American Archives
Provides over one million pages of historical documents. There are slavery-related collections along with letters, account books, annual reports and news clippings.
African American Biographical Database (ONLY AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS)
Brings together the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. These biographical sketches (including photographs and illustrations) have been assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Initial content is drawn from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. The collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more - both the famous and the everyday person. ONLY AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS.
African American Funeral Programs from the Augusta-Richmond County Public Library System
Consists of over 1000 funeral programs ranging from 1933-2017 (with the bulk beginning in the 1960s) from the Eula M. Ramsey Johnson Memorial Funeral Program Collection. A majority of the programs are from churches in Augusta, Georgia and the surrounding area. The programs typically contain a photograph of the deceased, an obituary, a list of surviving relatives, and the order of service. The collection provides extensive genealogical information about the deceased, including birth and death dates, maiden names, names of relatives, past residences, and place of burial. The obituaries provide a rich source of local history about African Americans.
African American Historical Serials (with ATLA)
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture.
Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection helps guide students to pertinent topics like social justice, politics, arts, literature, and key people.