Committee Charge
The Collection Management Committee serves as an advisory committee and recommends collection policy to the Dean of Libraries. The committee seeks to build and manage a collection offering the breadth and depth of subjects, formats, and languages necessary to support diverse fields of scholarly inquiry. The committee serves as the first group for deliberations on policies impacting collections in traditional and digital formats. The committee will operate as a work team which will require engagement outside of team meetings.
Committee members will focus on the following issues encompassing all formats:
Coordinate and provide leadership to library liaisons to ensure their long-term development and consistency with selection responsibilities.
Coordinate collection management activities library-wide.
Establish policies and priorities to improve access to information resources.
Align collection development practices to respond to shifting user needs.
Oversee and manage the development of collection development policy statements to describe the scope and nature of collections.
Make recommendations to align collections funds with University priorities and Libraries’ strategic directives.
Develop policies that govern both traditional and digital information resources.
Review cooperative purchasing agreements at the direction of the Dean of Libraries.
Identify trends, emerging practices and standards impacting collection development in a research environment.
Advise the Dean of Libraries on issues relating to evaluation of collection management work, digital collections, and collection assessment projects.
Membership:
The Team will consist of at least 3 members, but this number may increase depending on the development of the Team. Members will be appointed by the Dean of Libraries in consultation with heads of areas as appropriate.
Current Members:
Charlie Sicignano, E-Resources Librarian
Angela Mehaffey, Director of Access Services
Blynne Olivieri Parker, Interim Head of Learning & Research Services
Meeting Schedule:
The Committee meets on a quarterly basis during the months of July, October, January and April. Ad hoc meetings may be called as needed.