Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Water issues: Home

Primary source materials related to water issues held by Special Collections.

Food and water issues

Prepared by Lalah Manly, graduate research assistant

Drinking water / Ground water

Bob Barr box 479

  • Folder 4: Safe Drinking Water Act. Single document: The Legislative Digest, discussing amendments to the Safe Drinking Water Act (Conference Report), S. 1316 in 1996.  Conference highlights are discussed, as are major changes for the House-passed Bill. 

Bob Barr box 547

  • Folder 25: FDA Bottled water. One act requires that the FDA give bottled water standard of quality and that the EPA does so soon after.  An amendment to that act would require that the FDA follow the EPA’s standard within 180 days.

Bob Barr box 590

  • Folder 38: Safe Drinking Water Act, 1996. Three articles in the National Journal’s Congress Daily, and one from the AJC. 

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 6: Water- Saving Water, 1998.  CRS Report for Congress: “Safe Drinking Water Act Amendments of 1996: Overview of PL. 104-182.” (description of the law.)  Letters from the Plumbing Manufacturers Institute related to water conservation efforts.  “Saving Water, Saving Dollars: Efficient Plumbing Products and the Protection of America’s Waters” (69 pages). 

League of Women Voters Carrollton-Carroll County: box 8 

  • Folders 1-4: Water Study, 1996-1997.  First item in the folder is the Carroll County Water Study by the League of Women Voters of Carrollton / Carrol County, by Emily Cumming and Marguerite Owen, March 1997.  The rest of the files include numerous newspaper clippings on water in Carroll County and the Greater Atlanta region, interview transcriptions, correspondence, case studies, handwritten notes, topological maps, studies (including “The effects of sewage effluent on nitrates, pH, and dissolved oxygen levels in Turkey Creek, Pine Mountain, Harris County, Georgia”), lists, an operations manual  (“Operations Manual, City of Carrollton, Water Treatment Facility”), and educational materials (“Protect Your Ground Water” by the League of Women Voters Education Fund; at end of folder 4 of 4). 

Drought

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 19: Water Commission, 2002.  Letter from the Southern Governors’ Association regarding H.R. 4754, the National Drought Preparedness Act of 2002.  Email and letters related to H.R. 3561, the 21st Century Water and Policy Commission Establishment Act (creating a Water Commission).  Statement from WaterPolicy.net titled, “Water Policy in the United States: a perspective” (17 pages).  “Hydroelectric Generation and Water Supply in the Southeast,” (no author/agency listed) discusses ACT and ACF negotiation elements as related to hydroelectric power generation.

Lynn Westmoreland papers, box 2 folder 1, 2 

  • Folder 1-2: Committee on Small Business, “The Impact of the 2006-2007 Drought on Georgia’s Economy, 2008 March 25.  Documents from a hearing by the Committee on Small Business.  Opening statement by Lynn Westmoreland references a number of water issues.  Statements from other stakeholders can also be found behind the dividers in both folders 1 and 2.  Also contains a spiral bound report titled, “Economic Impact of West Point Lake at Various Lake Water Levels” at the back of the 2nd folder.

Pat Swindall papers, box 46

  • Folder 14: Water and Drought Information. File contains two letters from the Army Corps of Engineers (Alabama and Georgia mobile districts) regarding impact of drought on water resource needs.  File also contains a “Water Resources Development in Georgia 1987” report (102 pages) and a notice about hunting in the Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area being prohibited.

Energy and Water

Bob Barr box 543

  • Folder 37: Energy and Water Development, 1998. Energy and Water Appropriations Development for 1999 – amount of money allotted to water-related projects, and isolated for GA by Barr’s staff. 

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 1: Water, n.d.  Energy and Water Development Appropriations Bill, 2000, making appropriations for energy and water development for the fiscal year ending Sept 20, 2000.  “Buford Dam and Lake Lanier: Statutory Perspectives and Limitations,” March 1996. 
  • Folder 19: Water Commission, 2002.  Letter from the Southern Governors’ Association regarding H.R. 4754, the National Drought Preparedness Act of 2002.  Email and letters related to H.R. 3561, the 21st Century Water and Policy Commission Establishment Act (creating a Water Commission).  Statement from WaterPolicy.net titled, “Water Policy in the United States: a perspective” (17 pages).  “Hydroelectric Generation and Water Supply in the Southeast,” (no author/agency listed) discusses ACT and ACF negotiation elements as related to hydroelectric power generation.
  • Folder 23: Watershed Dams 2002.  Congressman John Linder press release on grant money to address aging watershed dams in Gwinnett County.  AJC articles re: an earthen dam in Cumming, GA.  Letter from Natural Resources Conservation Service regarding funds for servicing flood control dams in the Yellow River watershed. 

Lewis H. Larson box 33

  • Folder 6: Richard B. Russell CCN: ACOE, favorable survey report – pumped storage.  A report by the Army Corps of Engineers states, “The reporting officers find that the addition of pumped storage to the Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake project to help meet the growing demand for peaking power in the Southeast is warranted.”  “Accordingly, the reporting officers recommend the installation of four 75 megawatt (MW) pump-turbine units in the Richard B. Russell Dam to increase the generating capacity of the project from 300 MW to 600 MW.” 

Flooding

Bob Barr box 414

  • Folder 3: Flood problems and Grant wishes – Big Cedar Creek flooding, 1996.  Letters between Bob Barr and Army Corps of Engineers (and others) regarding street flooding of Big Cedar Creek in Cedartown. 

Bob Barr box 489

  • Folder 3: Trion Flooding, 1991-1998.   Documents in this file relate to flooding in Trion, GA.  GEMA supplied a grant in 1998 to study the flooding issues in the area.  Two notable documents in the file include a Hazard Mitigation Grant pre-application (4 pages w/ cover letter, 1998), and a reconnaissance report of the Chattooga River in Trion, GA (54 pages, 1991). 

Bob Barr box 498

  • Folder 10: newspaper clipping regarding allocation of federal funds toward a study of area flooding around Big Cedar Creek in Cedartown, GA. 
  • Folder 11: letter from Army Corps of Engineers stating that while the site (Big Cedar Creek) may qualify for a federal project, funds are not available now and may be available in 1998. 

Bob Barr box 536

  • Folders 33, 34: Cedar Creek, 1997-2001.  Cedar Creek flooding, letters to and from Corps of Engineers, clipping regarding Cedar Creek flooding, form letter from Congressman, and a letter from the COE regarding a site visit. 

Newt Gingrich, Miscellaneous, box 2853, folder 6 (the Gingrich papers are restricted to approved researchers by terms of donor agreement; please contact Special Collections for access instructions)

  • Folder 6: Emergency Watershed Program, 1996.  Contains one newsletter giving an update on EWP activities, such as natural resources conservation service work and infrastructure protection.

Rivers

Bob Barr box 590

  • Folder 11: River Care 2000 (1997).  A task force convened by Clinton tasked with integrating the environmental, historic, and economic programs and several federal agencies to benefit communities as related to the rivers that run through them.  Includes a “river development vision” for Rome and Floyd County. 
  • Folder 61: Savannah River, 1998-2001. Begins with a letter from the Secretary of Energy related to supporting the selection of the Savannah River Site for plutonium disposition activities.  File contains a substantial report by the US Dept of Energy, “Accelerating Cleanup: Paths to Closure.” 

Bob Barr box 599

  • Folder 5: Tri-state [1 of 2].  Contains a report by the River Basin Science and Policy Center at UGA titled, “Reservoirs in Georgia: Meeting Water Supply Needs While Minimizing Impacts.”  Also contains a summary of the Tri-State water negotiation process by one of Bob Barr’s staffers with suggestions for future steps. 
  • Maurice Townsend, box 92 Folder 8: Little Tallapoosa River Watershed Project.  Contains correspondence, including a letter from the U.S. Dept of Agriculture regarding archeological problems at “Structure No. 80, Lower Little Tallapoosa River Watershed project” in Carrollton.  Other letters in the file show this relates to an easement from WGC to Carroll County to manage flooding in low-lying areas adjacent to the river.  Maps are also present in the file.

Site mitigation for building dams 

Lewis H. Larson box 33; Dr. Larson was with the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at UWG.  Documents in this file are more related to anthropology and archeology than to use of water.  

  • Folders 3 and 4: Richard B. Russell Dam.  Proposals / requests for permission to conduct archeological investigations at sites related to the dam and lake containing possible human remains, reports, and scope of work documents.
  • Folder 5:  Richard B. Russell Dam.  Corps of Engineers schedule for impounding the reservoir for filling.  Announcement of public meeting for Richard B. Russell Master Plan for public comment.  Scope of Work for intensive testing and data recovery investigations of Beaverdam Creek mound and village.  Richard B. Russell Archeological District tentative mitigation plan.  Clippings related to archeologists’ race to explore the past before the reservoir covers the area for good.  
  • Folder 6: Richard B. Russell CCN: ACOE, favorable survey report – pumped storage.  A report by the Army Corps of Engineers states, “The reporting officers find that the addition of pumped storage to the Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake project to help meet the growing demand for peaking power in the Southeast is warranted.”  “Accordingly, the reporting officers recommend the installation of four 75-megawatt (MW) pump-turbine units in the Richard B. Russell Dam to increase the generating capacity of the project from 300 MW to 600 MW.” 

Lewis H. Larson box 34 

  • Folder 2: Richard B. Russell Dam design memorandum.  Master plan for resource development and management.
  • Folder 4: Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake.   Announcement of and brochure regarding a public meeting on the Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake project; brochure explains that the federal funding for the project is being reassessed for to be sure it still meets environmental, economic, and safety criteria.  File contains a letter outlining decisions made to date on work on the prehistoric, historic, and architecturally significant sites in the project area.

Lewis H. Larson box 35 

  • Folder 1: Richard B. Russell Dam, 1980.  “Archeological Investigations at Richard B. Russell Multiple Resource Area: Scope of Work.” 
  • Folder 2: Richard B. Russell Dam, 1980.  Research proposals submitted to the Interagency Archeological Services (IAS) of Atlanta (of which Lewis Larson was a member; he was also State Archeologist). 
  • Folder 3: Richard B. Russell Dam – National Register Nomination.  National Registry of Historic Places Inventory-Nomination Forms completed for the Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake area.
  • Folder 4: Richard B. Russell Dam – National Register Nomination.  Proposal by The History Group, Inc., to perform historical investigations of settlement, economy, and cultural behavior in the Richard B. Russell Multiple Resource Area. 
  • Folder 5: Richard B. Russell Dam – Project Workshop, 15 December 1980.  File contains a program for the Project Workshop, a document titled “Archeological Investigations at the Gregg Shoals Site,” the script for the “Etowah Mounds Slide Show,” project abstracts for the Richard B. Russell Cultural Resources Coordination and Planning Retreat, and the “Site and Floodplain Testing Programs in the Richard B. Russell Multiple Resource Area.”

Lewis H. Larson box 36

  • Folder 1: Wallace Dam – Lake Oconee, GA Power Company.  This file contains letters, reports (archeological, anthropological, energy-related, mitigation), and memoranda of agreement regarding the Wallace Reservoir project.
  • Folder 2: Wallace Dam – Lake Oconee, GA Power Company.  Georgia Power Company Environmental Statement for Exhibit R, Wallace Dam.  Letters regarding archeological salvage, site reports, mitigation plans, and eligibility for the National Register related to the Wallace Dam basin.
  • Folder 3: Wallace Dam / Laurens Shoals: Greene, Hancock, Morgan, Putnam Counties.   Memos and reports related to archeological salvage and mitigation, and designation of fish habitat.  Memorandum of Understanding between Georgia Power Company and the State Historic Preservation Officer.
  • Folder 4 & 5: Wallace Dam / Laurens Shoals: Greene, Hancock, Morgan, Putnam Counties. Memos and reports related to archeological salvage and mitigation for Laurens Shoals, Wallace Dam and Lake. 
  • Folder 6: Laurens Shoals / Wallace Dam Project; Environmental Impact Statement and Correspondence. 

Storm water / Waste Water / Sewers

Bob Barr papers, box 36

  • Folder 24: Timber and Agriculture Environmental Fairness Act. This act was intended to give a pass to certain farmers so that they would not have to get a national pollutant discharge elimination system permit from the EPA in order to discharge agricultural storm water. 

Bob Barr box 589

  • Folder 9: Regional Atlanta Watershed Initiative 106th, 1999. Questions and answers for request in Appropriations Subcommittee for funds to complete a combined sewer overflow facilities settlement.
  • Folder 11. Regional Water Authority, 2001.  Contains an article from the AJC with the title, “Governor seeks area water plan; Regional agency for 18 metro counties.”  Governor Barnes proposed at 25-member board tasked with developing a comprehensive regional plan to control stormwater runoff, increase sewage treatment capacity, and manage water supply and conservation in the metro area.

Bob Barr boxes 602

  • Folder 22: Waster Water, 1998.  Contains a letter from the City of Toccoa to the GA Dept of Natural Resources regarding an application for a loan ($9.9 million) through the State Revolving Loan Fund for improvements to two waste water treatment plants.  

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 3: Water 1999-2000.  USDA Rural Development Project Announcement of $200,000 approved for Haralson County, City of Tallapoosa to install sewer lines.  There are numerous documents unrelated to water in this file.  Info on West Point Lake water levels and barge navigation. 

Mac Collins, 108th, box 214

  • Folders 14-15: Atlanta sewer infrastructure, FY 2004 Energy and Water Appropriations bill, 2003. There are a variety of documents in these files related to negotiations among city, state and federal officials regarding funds to fix Atlanta’s crumbling sewer system.  Includes a letter from Mayor Shirley Franklin to Congressman Mac Collins making the case for federal monies to be appropriated for the project and includes steps taken by the state thus far. Documents directly after also speak to needed and taken steps.  There are many letters and faxes addressing this topic in these files.

Robert H. Claxton papers, box 11

  • Folder 12: Waste Water, local. Contains handwritten notes and newspaper clippings from the 70’s regarding waste water around Atlanta.

Tri-State Water Allocation

Bob Barr box 407

  • Folder 4: Water – West Georgia Regional Reservoir.  Contains the Tri-State Memorandum of Agreement for development of water resources by GA, FL, AL and the Army Corps of Engineers.  File also has newspaper clippings, copies of various issues of the “River Chat,” and memos among Barr staffers.

Bob Barr box 489

  • Folder 4: Trion Flooding, 1991-1998.  Folder title indicates the subject is Trion flooding, but the document included here relates to tri-state water allocation via a Cartersville Environmental Assessment Study (45+ page body plus appendices, 1998).  This document demonstrates the difficulty of ensuring water supply for a growing population as related to available water for those downstream.  Lake Allatoona topics addressed in the study include water quality, hydropower operation, water users, fisheries, recreation, cultural resources, economics and more. 
  • Folder 8: Tri-State Water, 1996-2002.  Newspaper clipping titled “Water Deal May Settle Old Dispute” summarizes the tri-state water fight from beginning to 1996.  This file contains many relevant newspaper clippings, as well as memos between Congressmen and from the Rome City Commission to Atlanta representatives.  Many documents in this file would be useful in this project. 
  • Folder 9: Tri-State Water, 1996-2002.  Contains the minutes of the House of Representatives committee oversight hearing on the tri-state water compact.  There are also a few memos related to the negotiation process which may be of interest. 
  • Folder 10: Tri-State Water Compact.  Contains clippings, highlights of the ACT/ACF Governor’s Advisory Council Meeting, and many pertinent memos (regarding the Haralson County reservoir (whether or not it can be filled once built under the ACT/ACF water compact); interbasin transfers; facets of the Compact itself; and other specific impacts of the compact (e.g. lake levels in Lake Allatoona and Lake Weiss).
  • Folder 11: Tri-State Water Compact 1997-2002.  AJC article on a plan for farmers to be compensated for not irrigating their crops from the Flint River during a drought.  GPPF Speech: potential talking points for Bob Barr to use in addressing the Georgia Public Policy Foundation; addresses water resources.  Final Report of the Clean Water Initiative (2000).  Letters from Lindsay Thomas (Federal Commissioner for the ACT/ACF River Basic Commissions) to Bob Barr.  The ACT Water Allocation Formula Agreement by mediator Aris Georgakakos (10 pages, 2001). 

Bob Barr box 500

  • Folder 8: Clean Lakes Task Force, 1998. Letter from Rome city manager regarding ACT (water compact) negotiations and his perception that negotiations so far are primarily taking metro-Atlanta into account, not all who would be affected.  Wants a public meeting in Rome to discuss negotiations with citizens. 
  • Folder 17: Coosa River Basin Initiative, 1998. Newspaper clippings regarding the ACT/ACF Water Compact, some specific to the plans for the Coosa River.

Bob Barr box 599

  • Folder 5: Tri-state [1 of 2].  Contains a report by the River Basin Science and Policy Center at UGA titled, “Reservoirs in Georgia: Meeting Water Supply Needs While Minimizing Impacts.”  Also contains a summary of the Tri-State water negotiation process by one of Bob Barr’s staffers with suggestions for future steps. 
  • Folder 6: Tri-state [2 of 2].  Contains the tri-state compacts as approved by Congress as well as many memos and letters. 
  • Folder 8-10: Tri-state water 2000-2002.  Many newspaper clippings regarding the tri-state water negotiations, including the extension of compact deadlines, Atlanta’s water-hungry (and polluting) ways, and the impact of water allocation on West Point Lake.  Many memos and letters included as well. 
  • Folder 11: Tri-State water, Misc. 1999.  Magazine and newspaper clippings, memos and letters. 
  • Folder 12: Tri-State water, 1998-1999.  Newspaper clippings.  “Survival of the thirstiest” from the Rome News-Tribune is a good summary of the issue to that point in time, from northwest GA’s point of view.
  • Folder 13-15: Tri-State Water, Tri-State Water Compact 1998-1999. Folder 13 Contains a joint resolution of the ACF Basin Compact between the three states making the Compact binding as a law (14 pages).  Contains a blue folder of letters and memos from the EPA, between Congressmen, from the ACT/ACF Federal Commissioner (Lindsay Thomas), from the US Corps of Engineers and more.  A Memo from Bob Barr to Senator Paul Coverdell and Congressman Johnny Isakson also provides a good history and overall status of the project (5 pages).  Folders 14 and 15 contain further memos, letters, clippings, and drafts of legislation on this topic.  
  • Folder 17-18: Tri-State Water compact 1998-2001.  Clippings, letters, memos. 

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 2: Water n.d.  “Apalachicola, Chattahoochee, and Flint Rivers, GA and FLA; Letter from the Secretary of War” June 1939. 
  • Folder 4: Water 1999-2002. Tri-state water negotiations clippings.  Memos and clippings regarding West Point Lake water levels and deauthorization of navigation on the Apalachicola, Chattahoochee, and Flint Rivers. 
  • Folder 5: Water P.L. 105-105, 1999.  Contains a copy of P.L. 105-105, the Alabama-Coosa-Tallapoosa River Basic Compact. 
  • Folder 8: Water-Tri-State Clippings, 2000. Clippings note that negotiations between the states appear to be failing.
  • Folder 9: Water-Tri-State (end of 1999).  Clippings, emails, copy of the interstate Compact. 
  • Folder 10: Water-Tri-State Secret Negotiations 2000.  Clippings and letters related to closed talks in the tri-state water negotiations that violate mutual water compact rules.
  • Folder 11: Water- Tri-State Water Compact, 1999.  Letter from Lindsay Thomas (ACT/ACF Commissioner) and responses from various agencies. 
  • Folder 12: Water Allocation, Alabama, n.d.  Spiral bound presentation of the Clean Water Initiative, a “project of the metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce and the Regional Business Coalition.”  June 2000. 
  • Folder 13: Water Allocation Alabama, Coosa and Tallapoosa Basic, 1998-2000.  Clippings, letters and memos regarding West Point Lake and the ACT/ACF negotiations, resumes of potential negotiators. 
  • Folder 14: Water allocation for the ACT River Basin, n.d.  Bound report titled, “Water Allocations for the Alabama-Coosa-Tallapoosa (ACT) River Basin.”  1998. 
  • Folder 15: Water allocation; the quality of our nation’s water, n.d.  Bound report by USGS: “The Quality of Our Nation’s Waters: Nutrients and Pesticides” (82 pages)
  • Folder 16: Water Allocation, Reservoirs of Opportunity, n.d.  “Reservoirs of Opportunity” – executive summary (12 pages) and final report (144 pages)
  • Folder 17: Water Allocation, Sharing the Water, n.d.  Three newsletters/brochures by the Army Corps of Engineers regarding ACT/ACF negotiations titled “Sharing the Water.”  Oct 1997, June 1998, Oct 1998. 
  • Folder 18: Water Allocation, the Upper Etowah River Watershed, 2000.  Bound report titled “The Upper Etowah River Watershed: A Guide for Local Residents, Policy Makers, and Resource Agencies” (71 pages).  Related to ACT/ACF as headwaters of Allatoona watershed. 

Newt Gingrich, Miscellaneous, box 3022, folder 32 (the Gingrich papers are restricted to approved researchers by terms of donor agreement; please contact Special Collections for access instructions)

  • Folder 29: Tri-State Water Compact Meeting. Email summarizing Tri-State Water Compact meeting on Jan 11, 1997 in which Gingrich helped negotiate language for the compact. 
  • Folder 32: Tri-State Water Compact.  File contains summaries of HB 148 and 149, the ACT and ACF river basin compacts, as well as full wording for HB 148.    

Newt Gingrich, Miscellaneous, box 3023, folder 3 (Tri-State Water Compact Legislation) (the Gingrich papers are restricted to approved researchers by terms of donor agreement; please contact Special Collections for access instructions)

  • Folder 1: Tri-State Computer Model.  File contains documentation regarding river gages necessary for data acquisition in the ACF and ACT basins, and a report titled, “Analysis of Hydro-Meteorologic Resources in the ACT and ACF Basins,” which also discusses how the rivers involved might be monitored and how forecasts of long-term conditions might be made.
  • Folder 2: Tri-State Computer Model – U.S. Geological Survey – NA WOA – Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River Basin.  Contains a report by the U.S. Geological Survey titled, “The National Water-Quality Assessment Program: Example of Study Unit Designed for the Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River Basin in Georgia, Alabama, and Florida, 1991-1997.”
  • Folder 3: Tri-State Water Compact Legislation. Contains copies of H.J. Res. 91 and 92 granting the consent of Congress to the ACT and ACF River Basin Compacts.
  • Folder 4: Tri-State USGS Info.  Bibliography and web resources related to the National Water-Quality Assessment Program by the USGS. 

Thomas B. Murphy papers, Jackey Beavers’ Office, General Files, box 43,

  • Folder 1: Water plan survey committee. Contains appropriations request to Georgia Congress for Tri Rivers Waterway Development Association; summary of HB 148 and 149, the ACT and ACF River Compacts; floor speech on interstate water compacts; correspondence from water stakeholders; “Final Report of the Clean Water Initiative (Nov 2000; 22 pages)” (overview of the issues with history and present actions being taken); “The Status of Comprehensive Water Planning in Georgia: An Interim Report (Dec 2001)” and a presentation regarding the ACT/ACF Compacts.

Water

Bob Barr box 407

  • Folder 1: Water – Bowdon. Contains newspaper clippings.
  • Folder 2: Water – Snake Creek Reservoir.  Contains newspaper clippings.
  • Folder 3: Water: Tallapoosa, Tri-State.  Contains newspaper clippings that continue on to tell what came after the events detailed in the League of Women Voters – Carrollton Carroll County Water Report.

Bob Barr box 500

Bob Barr box 550 (Georgia’s Water Bill of Rights)

  • Folder 13: Georgia’s Water Bill of Rights. A one-page document related to Georgia’s philosophy with regard to use of water presently and in the future.

League of Women Voters Carrollton-Carroll County: box 8

  • Folders 1-4: Water Study, 1996-1997.  First item in the folder is the Carroll County Water Study by the League of Women Voters of Carrollton / Carrol County, by Emily Cumming and Marguerite Owen, March 1997.  The rest of the files include numerous newspaper clippings on water in Carroll County and the Greater Atlanta region, interview transcriptions, correspondence, case studies, handwritten notes, topological maps, studies (including “The effects of sewage effluent on nitrates, pH, and dissolved oxygen levels in Turkey Creek, Pine Mountain, Harris County, Georgia”), lists, an operations manual  (“Operations Manual, City of Carrollton, Water Treatment Facility”), and educational materials (“Protect Your Ground Water” by the League of Women Voters Education Fund; at end of folder 4 of 4). 

Mac Collins, Miscellany box 173

  • Folder 5: City of Griffin water resources. Army Corps of Engineers approved a 404 Permit to allow the City of Griffin to construct a reservoir to serve 55,000 residents of Spalding, Pike, Coweta, and Meriwether Counties. 

Water Conservation

Bob Barr box 500

  • Folder 14: Conservation – water, soil, etc, 1995-1998. Letters and newspaper clippings regarding conservation activities in Barr’s district, including work by the Army Corps of Engineers and the Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Bob Barr box 500

  • Folder 18: Coosa River and Water Conservation, 1999-2000.  Information in a memo regarding a Congressional Conservation Tour contains a description of the creation of local Soil and Water Conservation Commissions, information about wetlands, references to Lake Allatoona and its dam project, and the Conservation and Reinvestment Act (H.R. 701). 
  • Folders 19 & 20: Coosa River Soil and Water Conservation, 1999-2000. Plans for a tour to show conservation projects. 

Bob Barr box 602

  • Folder 23: Water 2000.  Contains a report (packet, 22 pgs) titled “Troubled Waters: Congress, the Corps of Engineers, and Wasteful Water Projects.”  AJC articles on a variety of topics (teachers in schools, computers in cop cars, Clintons and Whitewater, affordable prescription plans, etc.)

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 6: Water- Saving Water, 1998.  CRS Report for Congress: “Safe Drinking Water Act Amendments of 1996: Overview of PL. 104-182.” (description of the law.)  Letters from the Plumbing Manufacturers Institute related to water conservation efforts.  “Saving Water, Saving Dollars: Efficient Plumbing Products and the Protection of America’s Waters” (69 pages). 

Thomas B. Murphy papers, Tammy Liner’s Office, Department files, Box 55

  • Folder 1: State Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  File contains several letters, one of which explains in some detail the rationale behind an appropriations request by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission for $6.3 million as related to the Georgia Safe Dams Act and the state’s 350 dams. 

Newt Gingrich, Miscellaneous, box 2853 (the Gingrich papers are restricted to approved researchers by terms of donor agreement; please contact Special Collections for access instructions)

  • Folder 6: Emergency Watershed Program, 1996.  Contains one newsletter giving an update on EWP activities, such as natural resources conservation service work and infrastructure protection.

Water Policy

Bob Barr box 496

  • Folder 1: National Water Commission report. Contains just the 579-page report, “Water Policies for the Future: Final Report to the President and to the Congress of the United States by the National Water Commission.”

Water Quality / Pollution

Bob Barr Box 351

  • Folder 12: Water Quality Task Force. The folder contains copies of newspaper articles about pollution and the Chattahoochee River, press releases by Bob Barr, a copy of “River Chat” (with various articles about pollution, what’s being done about it, and the river), and a partial document from the Burruss Institute of Public Service regarding water quality and West Point Lake (which is fed by Chattahoochee, which is polluted by Atlanta.

Bob Barr box 547

  • Folder 17: Flint River.  Contains a report by the U.S. Geological Survey titled, “Water quality in the Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River Basin.”

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 15: Water allocation; the quality of our nation’s water, n.d.  Bound report by USGS: “The Quality of Our Nation’s Waters: Nutrients and Pesticides” (82 pages)

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 24: Watershed Initiative, 1998.  Memos to Bob Barr regarding Regional Atlanta Watershed Programs.  Proposed amendments to the Water Resources Development Act of 1998.  Letter from Atlanta Mayor Bill Campbell to Bob Barr regarding a funding request from the Energy and Water Development Appropriations.  Bound document titled “Regional Atlanta Watershed and Clean Streams Program Working Document: A summary of funding needs for a comprehensive strategy to meet federal and state environmental infrastructure requirements” 1998, 39 pages.  Various documents related to Atlanta’s efforts to reduce phosphorus load in contaminated waters and upgrade CSO facilities. Fact sheet regarding Regional Atlanta Watershed and Clean Streams Program.  Environment and Energy Weekly Update Land Letter (newsletter, green).  Regional Atlanta Watershed and Clean Streams Program agenda. 

Bob Barr box 417

  • Folder 4: Clean Water Initiative.  The Chamber of Commerce and the Regional Business Coalition together created the Clean Water Initiative; in this file it is discussed in terms of what Barr’s stance toward it should be.  There is a spiral-bound CWI set of slides for a June 2000 Task Force Meeting.  The final report of the CWI can be found in the Bob Barr papers, box 496.

Water Resources Development Act

Bob Barr papers, 106th Congress, Box 36

  • Folder 38: Water Resources Development Act (WRDA). The full text of this bill, H. R. 1480, is included here.  According to the summary it deals with the conservation and development of water and related resources, via projects and improvements to be made by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.  There is a memo regarding Congressman Barr seeking a vehicle – possibly this bill – to address the Mayo Bar Lock Dam in Rome, GA, and the Norfolk-Southern Truck Transfer Station.  April 1999

Watershed

Thomas B. Murphy papers, Jackey Beavers’ Office, General Files, box 43,

  • Folder 7: West Georgia Watershed Assessment and Management Plan, 2002.  Advisory Committee Meeting minutes.  

Thomas B. Murphy papers, Tammy Liner’s Office, Department files, box 55

  • Folder 1: State Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  File contains several letters, one of which explains in some detail the rationale behind an appropriations request by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission for $6.3 million as related to the Georgia Safe Dams Act and the state’s 350 dams. 

Tracy Stallings papers, box 104

  • Folder 12: Watershed Assessment, undated.  West Georgia Watershed Assessment list of involved parties, and a list of steering committee responsibilities. 

West Georgia Regional Reservoir

Bob Barr box 407

  • Folder 5: Welfare Reform. News clippings and correspondence regarding the West Georgia Regional Reservoir, the 404 permit submission of which was delayed until after a tri-state water allocation formula agreement could be reached.

Bob Barr box 494

  • Folder 8: West Georgia Reservoir, 2001. File contains one newspaper clipping regarding the proposed West Georgia reservoir to be built in Haralson County. 

Bob Barr box 477

  • Folder 18: Reservoir, 1995. Single document referencing the withdrawal of the permit request to build the West Georgia Regional Reservoir until after the tri-state water allocation formula agreement could be reached.

Bob Barr box 604, folder 5

  • Folder 5: West Georgia Reservoir, 2002.  Three newspaper clippings regarding new movement in plans for a West Georgia Reservoir.  Plans had been stalled due to complications with the ACT/ACF water negotiations, but were resolved with Alabama by reducing the size and changing the location of the proposed reservoir.

West Point Lake

Bob Barr boxes 602

  • Folder 24: Water 2000.  Memo on West Point Lake, COE, and barge traffic on ACT rivers.  Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint Navigation Meeting notes presented to Congressional Delegation in D.C.  Reservoirs of Opportunity: Final Report of the National Recreation Lakes Study Commission (June 1999; book); and Reservoirs of Opportunity: Executive Summary (June 1999, 12 pages). Series of letters between Barr and COE re: West Point Lake water levels during drought.
  • Folder 25: Water 1998-2000.  Letters and memos regarding water levels at West Point Lake.  Memo from the American Recreation Coalition regarding lake levels in recreational lakes around the country.  Occasional docs re: tri-state water negotiations. 
  • Folder 26: Water, 1999-2000.  White Paper on West Point Lake.  Other documents in this file also relate to West Point Lake, specifically to the release of water from the lake to make navigation by barges below the lake possible. 

Bob Barr box 603

  • Folder 3: Water 1999-2000.  USDA Rural Development Project Announcement of $200,000 approved for Haralson County, City of Tallapoosa to install sewer lines.  There are numerous documents unrelated to water in this file.  Info on West Point Lake water levels and barge navigation. 

Bob Barr box 604, folder 5

  • Folder 7: West Point Lake 1999-2002 (1 of 5).  Newspaper clippings re: barges/boats on the ACF. Memos and letters from and to the Army COE regarding lake levels, hydroelectric power generation, and river dredging. ACT/ACF meeting memos.  There is a memo from Fred Aiken to Bob Barr dated May 16, 2001 that summarizes a visit made by multiple congressmen to West Point Lake and discusses the issues around water levels in the lake.  Folder 8: West Point Lake 2001 (2 of 5). “Application for Preliminary Permit for the West Point Lake Hydropower Project,” 2001, 16+ pages.  Memos, letters and clippings related to West Point Lake and barges in the river below the lake.
  • Folder 9: West Point Lake 2000-2001 (3 of 5).  Multiple clippings and memos regarding: COE okays water release for critical shipment by barge to Farley Nuclear Power Plant on Chattahoochee River.  Similar to the Box 604, Folder 7 note above, there is a Nov 3 memo bringing Bob Barr up to speed for an impending press conference that states the issues around West Point Lake succinctly.
  • Folder 10: West Point Lake 1995-2000 (4 of 5).  Clippings, memos and letters from constituents regarding West Point Lake levels.  Bill language to prohibit the Secretary of the Army from taking action to reduce the water level of West Point Lake, GA.
  • Folder 11: West Point Lake 2000-2002 (5 of 5).  Memos, emails, reports on WPL as related to ACT/ACF negotiations.
  • Folder 12: West Point Lake – ACF Rivers, 2000. Contains a packet of memos, letters and reports between Barr and the Corps of Engineers, in which Barr asks the COE to evaluate the cost effectiveness of barge navigation below West Point Lake.  The COE returned with the news that “maintaining navigation on the ACF is not economically justified or environmentally defensible.” 
  • Folder 13: West Point Lake – Temporary file (original not put back), 2000. More clippings related to dredging of rivers for barge traffic, West Point Lake water levels, the impact of dredging on the Apalachicola flood plain, and water conservation. Letters and reports in a packet together, starting with a letter from the West Point Lake Advisory Committee.  It lists the chief concerns of the residents impacted by the lake’s water levels. 
  • Folder 14: West Point Lake Task Force, 1997-1999.  Contains clippings related to Chattahoochee River cleanup, WPL drawdowns / water levels, barge navigation, the creation of the Lake Allatoona Preservation Authority.  Memos, letters, and emails by Barr’s office and COE office.  “West Point Lake Shoreline Management Plan” by the US Army Corps of Engineers.

Lynn Westmoreland papers, box 2 folder 1, 2

  • Folder 1-2: Committee on Small Business, “The Impact of the 2006-2007 Drought on Georgia’s Economy, 2008 March 25.  Documents from a hearing by the Committee on Small Business.  Opening statement by Lynn Westmoreland references a number of water issues.  Further statements from other stakeholders are good examples of differing points of view and concerns.  These are found behind the dividers in both folders 1 and 2.  Also contains a spiral bound report titled, “Economic Impact of West Point Lake at Various Lake Water Levels” at the back of the 2nd folder.

Wetlands

Bob Barr box 604, folder 5

  • Folder 15: Wetlands, 2000-2002.  Clippings related to US protections for wetlands.
  • Folder 16: Wetlands Field testing, 1997.  Letter from couple to Congressman regarding the destruction of wetlands area by a subdivision development company.  Hearings on wetlands field.  Various reports on hearings related to wetlands cases. 
  • Folder 17: Wetlands Field testing, 1997.  Contains an environmental assessment by the COE and permit request for construction of the West Cobb Loop, a four-lane highway.  Permit denied.
  • Folder 18: Wetlands, North America, 1998.  Information about a case related to a wetland mitigation banking program run by the Monastery of the Holy Ghost and a conflict with the EPA.  Request from Appropriations for funding for the North American Wetlands Conservation Fund. 

Newt Gingrich, Miscellaneous, box 3023, folder 3 (the Gingrich papers are restricted to approved researchers by terms of donor agreement; please contact Special Collections for access instructions)

  • Folder 5: Wetland Technologies/Mitigation Banking.  Contains a letter and program description by Wetland Environmental Technologies (WET) for mitigation banking along the Chattahoochee River.  Among the newspaper and magazine clippings is an AJC article about wetlands to be restored at the Monastery of the Holy Spirit in Conyers as a wetlands mitigation bank. “An Introduction to Wetland Mitigation Banking” flier is also present in the file.