Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latino Studies

Finding articles

When researching Latin American Studies, you will want to consult the databases listed below as well as the databases on the research guides that best represent your subjects (for example Literature, Political Science, Economics, etc).

Ethnic NewsWatch

  • Contains full text journals, magazines and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses
  • Only use Advanced Search so you can limit by Ethnic Group
  • Contains articles in English and Spanish so limit by language or use bilingual searching to get the results you want.
  • Coverage is 1990 to present

PRISMA, the full text for Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

  • Use PRISMA to get the full text for many of the articles in HAPI
  • Information about Latin America, the Caribbean, Latin Americans & Caribbeans in the diaspora and Hispanics in the United States
  • Links to some full-text articles, but is mostly an index (use Find it @ UWG to get article)
  • Contains references to articles in English, Spanish, Portuguese, German and French (limit by language if you do not want all those languages)
  • Indexes journals from 1970-present
  • Does not index books or include book chapters
  • Does not include articles about the Iberian Peninsula unless it is about relations between Iberian countries and Latin American countries
  • Only subject headings and keywords, no abstracts

Alt-Press Watch

  • Alternative Press magazines and independent newspapers
  • For Latino Studies, this database has interesting small local presses and social justice-centered publications

America: History & Life

  • If off-campus, you must use the GALILEO password
  • History database if you want articles about US involvement in Latin America

MLA

  • Use bilingual searches in MLA if you are bilingual
  • MLA has references to articles published in journals and individual chapters published in edited books (anthologies) as well as references to monographs (books)
  • Use Find it @ UWG button to see if we have access to the full-text