Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Immigration and refugees: Home

Resources related to immigration policy and refugees held by Special Collections. To contact Special Collections, email special@westga.edu or visit https://www.westga.edu/library/special-collections/index.php

Immigration and refugee resources

Archival collections

 

Bob Barr Papers, Legislative Committees Files

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0005-11-ead.xml

Barr represented Georgia’s seventh district in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003. A conservative Republican, he supported legislation that would tighten American immigration policy. His legislative committees files include material on the activities of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS), as well as material on a proposed 1995 immigration reform bill (which did not become law) that included provisions such as worker verification programs.

 

Bob Barr Papers, Office Files

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0005-15-ead.xml

Barr represented Georgia’s seventh district in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003. A conservative Republican, he supported legislation that would tighten American immigration policy. His office files include material on the activities of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS), material on a proposed 1995 immigration reform bill that did not become law, and material on a 1996 immigration reform bill that was passed into law as the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996. There is also correspondence with mayors of cities in the Atlanta metro area regarding immigration issues in their communities.

 

Newt Gingrich Papers, 104 and 105th Congresses

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0001-10-ead.xml

Gingrich was a faculty member at UWG who taught in history and environmental studies, then represented Georgia’s sixth district in the U.S. House of Representatives, eventually becoming Speaker of the House. A conservative Republican, he generally favored tightening immigration policy. Materials from the 104th and 105th Congresses (1995-1999) include material on immigration and welfare benefits in these years.

The Newt Gingrich papers are restricted by the terms of the donor agreement, and researchers should contact Special Collections for access instructions.

 

Multicultural Community Alliance Records

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/LH-0062-ead.xml

During the 1990s, Carroll County’s Hispanic population more than tripled. In an effort to address the cultural and linguistic challenges faced by these new immigrants, UWG anthropology professor Marjorie Snipes, along with education advocate Suzy Montalto, founded the Brookwood Project, headquartered at the Brookwood Apartments near UWG. This initiative focused on helping immigrants navigate local government services and aided them in learning English. In 2001, the Brookwood Project was renamed the Multicultural Community Alliance (MCA), and relocated from Brookwood Apartments to the Tracy Stallings Recreation Center in downtown Carrollton. The Alliance’s records contain annual reports, grant applications, correspondence, and photographs of MCA activities.

 

Elena Mustakova-Possardt Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/MS-0033-ead.xml

In the early 2000s, UWG psychology professor Elena Mustakova-Possardt developed Latinos United of Carroll County (LUCC), an organization focused on community empowerment and leadership development. Mustakova-Possardt’s papers include LUCC meeting minutes, correspondence, and grant materials. The collection also includes a small amount of material related to Mustakova-Possardt’s teaching and research at UWG.

 

Gregor Sebba Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/MS-0051-ead.xml

Gregor Sebba, a Latvian native who later became a U.S. citizen, was a professor of economics and statistics at the University of Georgia. He conducted research on 1,252 Europeans who settled in Georgia under the terms of the Displaced Persons Act of 1948, which assisted Europeans displaced by Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union. The collection includes case files of individual refugees, correspondence with other resettlement agencies, and government documents.

 

Pat Swindall Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0020-ead.xml

Swindall represented Georgia’s fourth congressional district, based in DeKalb County, in the US House of Representatives from 1985 to 1989. His papers contain general files on immigration issues along with extensive material on the “Mariel Cubans,” Cubans who left the island in 1980 and resettled in the United States. In 1987, a group of Mariel Cubans imprisoned in the Atlanta Penitentiary instituted an uprising and took several hostages. Swindall’s papers contain records of the uprising and its aftermath, including an extended disagreement between Swindall and Representative John Lewis about what should be done with the prisoners.

 

Print materials

 

Frank L. Auerbach, The Resettlement of Displaced Persons in the United States: A Handbook of Legal and Technical Information for the Use of Local Social and Civic Agencies (circa 1950)

KF4819 .A9x 1950

This publication discusses the resettlement of Eastern Europeans in the United States under the terms of the 1948 Displaced Persons Act. In contrast to state-level analyses held by Special Collections, this publication focuses on broad national trends.

 

Henry Pratt Fairchild, The Melting Pot Mistake (1926)

JV6465 .F35

Published two years after passage of the 1924 Johnson-Reed Act, which tightened immigration restriction in the United States, this book attempted to persuade Americans unconvinced of the need for immigration restriction. It discusses topics such as nationalism and assimilation.

 

Rudolf Heberle and Dudley S. Hall, Displaced Persons in Louisiana and Mississippi (1951)

D808.U5 H3x 1951

This publication presents detailed findings on the resettlement of Eastern Europeans in Louisiana and Mississippi under the terms of the Displaced Persons Act of 1948.

 

François Lafitte, The Internment of Aliens (1940)

D809.G7 L3

This book discusses the experiences of German and Austrian refugees who fled to Britain during World War II.

 

Hans Lukaschek, The German Expellees: A German Focal Problem (1952)

HN445 .L812 1952

A report issued for the new government of West Germany after World War II, this publication discusses refugees who fled Germany during the war.

 

Migration from Europe: A Report (1951)

HV640.3 .A38

This report, authored by the International Refugee Organization, discusses the flight and resettlement of refugees created by World War II.

 

Gregor Sebba, Displaced Persons in Georgia: A Report to the Georgia Displaced Persons Committee (1954)

JV6948.R4 S4

Gregor Sebba, a Latvian native who later became a U.S. citizen, was a professor of economics and statistics at the University of Georgia. He conducted research on 1,252 Europeans who settled in Georgia under the terms of the Displaced Persons Act of 1948, which assisted Europeans displaced by Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union. This publication presents detailed findings concluded from his research.