Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminology

Resources for Criminology students at UWG

Find Articles

Criminology Databases

Criminal Justice Database at ProQuest
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Criminology: A SAGE full-text collection
Full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,100 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Specifically, it contains the following collections:

  • National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD): NACJD facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources. NACJD also promotes original research based on archived data and provides specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
  • CrimeStat: CrimeStat version 3.0 is a spatial statistics program for the analysis of crime incident locations, developed by Ned Levine & Associates. The program is Windows-based and interfaces with most desktop GIS programs. It provides supplemental statistical tools to aid law enforcement agencies and criminal justice researchers in their crime mapping efforts. CrimeStat is being used by many police departments around the country as well as by criminal justice and other researchers.
  • Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN): PHDCN is an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence. 

Legal Resources

Legal Collection
An authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.

Georgia - Attorney General's Office
Information on its staff, history, mission, organization, etc. The site also provides the ability to search the opinions of the Attorney General (1994-present).

Georgia Code
A compilation of the currently enforcable laws of the state of Georgia. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number. The code can also be browsed by title, chapter, and section.

Links to Databases from Other Fields

Psychology

Sociology