LibGuides: XIDS 2002: Surveillance (Cormican): Articles & Books

Articles (from Humanities & Social Sciences Databases)

MLA International Bibliography (Literature and Language)
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
JSTOR
JSTOR ("journal storage") provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Project Muse
Full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary scholarly database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. The database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present. This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Finding Articles through GALILEO Databases

Looking for scholarly articles from journals? Search UWG Databases

How to Access GALILEO Databases (PDF)

Books

For books select the button "GIL-Find (Catalog)" below.

You can also search from the UWG Library homepage.

Books@UWG

Search the UWG Library Catalog (GIL-Find). Here you can find library materials at UWG including books (electronic & print), journals, DVDs, CDs, and primary sources. (You can also access the catalog from the Library homepage (use the search box "Books" tab.)
Locating a Print Book in UWG Library (PDF)

Beyond UWG Library

If you don't find what you need in the UWG Library catalog, search all University System of Georgia (USG) libraries through the USG Universal catalog (use the drop-down menu to the right of the Library Catalog search box). (If you live in GA, your UWG student ID will also allow you to check out books from any of the University System of Georgia institutions.)
Placing Book Requests from other USG Libraries (GIL Express) (PDF)

Beyond USG Libraries

If no USG libraries have the item, search WorldCat. You can request the through UWG's Interlibrary Loan.

Book Locations

Library books are organized by subject. Each book has a call number that reflects the subject area. Books on language and literature begin with the call number 'P.' For example,

H Social Sciences
P Language & Literature
- PN Literature (General)
More subcategories

To find the call number for a specific book search in the library catalog. A-H call numbers are on the Library's 2rd floor. J-Z call numbers are on the 3rd floor.

Book Call Numbers

Each book in the Library has a call number used to identify and locate it. Call numbers are based on the item's subject, author, and publication date. If you find one book on your topic, look around on the shelf for related books.

Once you find the book you are looking for in the catalog, you'll see a field like this:

Location: Stacks (A-K call numbers shelved on 2nd floor; L-Z on 3rd)

Call Number: LB2395 .C65 1991

Number of Items: 1

Status: Not Checked Out

Write down the entire call number and go to the floor that has the starting letter. In this case, L is on the third floor.

Reading call numbers

Image from UC Santa Cruz University Library, Creative Commons Attribution License