Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psyc4884: Integrative Seminar

Databases & Articles

PsycInfo

As a Psychology student, you will probably use the PsycINFO database on a regular basis. 

 Here are some features of PsycINFO:

Full-text vs Citations - What's the difference?  A citation is information about an article or research study - title, where and when it was published, an abstract that summarizes the article.  It may or may not include access to the article, such as a PDF or an html file.

But what if you want to read an article you discover in PsychINFO but you the full-text isn't there but instead you find the dreaded  button? Go here to the FindIt@UWG tab to learn what to do. 

Since PsycINFO also contains citations for books, you may see a link to the library's catalog.  In that case, the book is located in Ingram Library's collection.  If it is not, go to the Books tab to check GIL Universal.  If that doesn't work, you may put in a request through ILL.

Other Databases for Finding Articles

PsycInfo is the official American Psychological Association database, but what if you are researching something outside of the mainstream? Another thing you want to consider is whether scholars from other disciplines, such as criminology, sociology, or education, are also doing research related to your topic. Here are other places to look for sources:

Other Psychology Databases

ProQuest Psychology Journals

EBSCO Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print 

If you want to find out if there is a commercially available test to measure your topic, this is a good place to look.

Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Information given on instruments includes test name and classification, author(s), publisher, publication date, price, time requirements, existence of validity and reliability data, score descriptions, levels, and intended populations. Published reviews of the tests are referenced. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Tests in Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. It serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.

Other Subject Databases

Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Not all articles are peer-reviewed.

Ingram Library Research Guides for Other Discplines - Clicking on a subject at the Databases by Subject page will take you to a research guide with links to specialized databases for that subject area.

Academic Search Complete 

  • Available via EBSCO http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zbac
  • Good place to start for a sampling of information across the disciplines
  • Indexes over 10,000 journals with nearly half fulltext
  • Includes scholarly and popular material
  • NOTE: This database is general but it breaks out search results according to subject-area. You can use that to determine other fields to explore for more viewpoints about your topic