Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Web

Adding References To Your EndnoteWeb Library

EndnoteWeb allows users to add citations to their online collection in a number of ways through the Import Menu.  This page details the various procedures you might use.

New Reference

1.Open MyEndNote Web

2.Under Collect select, New Reference

3.Select Reference Type

4.Field options change to match the information the selected type requires

5.Type information in the feilds

  •    Author's last and first name
  •    Separate multiple authors with semicolons
  •    Enter additional elements that you may want (keywords, class name, where you have a copy of it filed, etc.)

6.Select a group

7.Click on Save

8.The new reference becomes part of the selected group

Online Search

1.Under the Collect tab, select Online Search

2.Select the database to search (only works with Library Catalogs, Project Muse, and PubMed)

3.Search the database and check the boxes to select the ones you want

4.Add your selected references from each screen to a group using the Add to Group menu

Importing - General

Importing from a database

  1. Search the database as you normally would
  2. Select the records you want; you may have to add them to the "save" list or add them to a "folder" (databases use different language for this functionality)
  3. Go to save, output, or export
    1. Where possible, choose Endnote or EndnoteWeb as the format
    2. If Endnote is not a possible format, select RIS
    3. If neither Endnote nor RIS is possible, select TXT
  4. Export the files.
  5. Import files into EndNote following instructions below

(You will have to export it into an existing group or into (unfiled))

Importing From A Saved File

  1. Open EndNote Web
  2. Under the Collect tab select Import References
  3. Browse to find file name and click on it
  4. Select file type (based on instructions for specific databases included below)
  5. Select a group in which to save the references
  6. Click on the “Import” button
  7. Records will be added to the group you selected. Click the group name to view them. They will also appear in the “All My References” group
  8. Import filters are not available for all databases. For these one must cut & paste or type in data

Importing - Database Specific Examples

EBSCO Databases (includes Academic Search Complete; Advanced Placement Source; ALT HealthWatch; America: History & Life; Business Source Complete; CINAHL; Computer Science Index; EconLit; ERIC; Historical Abstracts; Medline; PsycINFO; and others)

  1. You can import directly from EBSCO-hosted databases
  2. Search the database and select the records you want by clicking "Add to folder"
  3. Click the Folder tab at the top
  4. Mark the records you want to export to Endnote
  5. Click "Export," then "Direct Export to EndNote Web"
  6. If you are already logged into Endnote Web, the records will export there. If you are not already logged in, you will be prompted to log in
  7. The records will appear in All My References; move them to the group where you want them

Proquest Database (includes ABI/INFORAquatic Sci & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA); Biological Sciences; Computer & Information Systems Abstracts; Education Journals; Physical Education Index; Religion; Wall street Journal; etc.)

  1. Search database and mark desired records
  2. Click “Export/Save"
  3. Choose document format "EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite" and click Continue
  4. Click the Continue button and save the file to your desired hard drive
  5. Follow the instructions "to import a saved text file" above
  6. Use RefMan RIS as the import option (Find it in Select Favorites)
  7. ProQuest may not export citation information into EndNote correctly, so after you import, check your references. To edit a reference, click on its title. Look at the Reference Type field to make sure it is correct (Journal Article, Book, etc.); if not, click in that field and select the correct type from the menu; then make sure the correct citation information (such as journal title, volume, issue, and date) is located in the correct fields and edit as necessary (this information may be located in the Notes field).

       Google Scholar

  1. Click on Settings
  2. Under "Bibliography Manager" change the setting to “Show links to import citations into EndNote”
  3. Click Save (you have to do this once per computer per browser)
  4. Search Google Scholar
  5. Each citation will now have the option “Import into EndNote”
  6. Click “Import into EndNote” and then Save File (will be .enw file)
  7. Follow the directions “to import a saved text file” above using Import Option: Endnote Import
  8. Check citation to make sure bibliographic data is complete; manually add or edit as needed
  9. Check to make sure EndNote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed

JSTOR

  1. Search JSTOR and select records
  2. Click “Export Citation”
  3. Click “RIS file” and then Save File
  4. Follow the directions “to import a saved text file” above using Import Option: JSTOR
  5. Check to make sure EndNote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed              

       WorldCat

  1. Search database and select records
  2. Click on Export Icon
  3. Export: Marked Records
  4. Export to: EndNote
  5. Click on Export button and then Save File
  6. Follow the directions “to import a saved text file” above using Import Option: WorldCat (OCLC)
  7. Check to make sure Endnote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed.

       Chadwyck (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; American Poetry 1: 1600-1900; etc.)

  1. Search database and select records
  2. Click “Selected Records” or “Marked List” (varies by database)
  3. Mark desired records if necessary and click “Download Selected Citations” or “ Download Citations”
  4. Click “Download in a format compatible with…EndNote…” and then Save File
  5. File will be .txt format
  6. Follow the directions “to import a saved text file” above using Import Option: RefMan RIS
  7. Check to make sure EndNote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed

PubMed

  1. Select database and select records
  2. From the Send to menu, select file
  3. From the format menu, select MEDLINE
  4. Click the “Create File” button and then Save File
  5. File will be .txt format
  6. Follow the directions “to import a saved text file” above using Import Option: PubMed (NLM)
  7. Check to make sure EndNote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed

UWG Library Catalog 
(Please note that we do not recommend you do this because you will lose a lot of information. Online Search is a better method for getting records from the Ingram Library Catalog)

  1. Search the UWG library catalog
  2. Select items and click “Add to Favorites List” (Note: You will have to log into your account to do this)
  3. When finished, under View Results, select “My Favorites” and select records you want to export (it will not delete them from your list)
  4. Click Export to Endnote
  5. Click "Download" and save the file.
  6. Follow directions “to import a saved text file” at the top of page
  7. Use Endnote Import as the import option
  8. Check to make sure EndNote Web imported the citation information correctly and manually edit as needed