Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 6203: American Folklife

Academic Articles

The following databases will be places for you to find scholarly articles to use as secondary sources. These are linked from http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/subjects/?Welcome

Academic Search Complete

  • Covers articles published 1980s-present
  • Contains some full-text
  • Multidisciplinary database including history, sociology, women's studies

America History & Life

  • References to articles, books and book chapters
  • History of the US and Canada
  • Use Find It @ UWG to see if we have the source

Art Full Text

  • 1997-Present
  • full text articles from 170 art publications and abstracting and indexing from an additional 490 publications

JSTOR

  • Coverage Dates: 1800s- (dates vary)
  • The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
  • Secondary resources

Sociological Abstracts

  • References to articles, books and book chapters
  • Might help build socio-historic context for item
  • Use Find It @ UWG to see if we have the source

Women and Social Movements in the United States

  • Covers 1600-2000
  • Primary and secondary source material

Finding Books

All the books, videos, and other materials at Ingram Library are listed in our online catalog. You can use the boxes below to search this catalog. When you find the book you want, click on the title to view that book's record. You'll see the book's call number on this page; the call number is the way that you will find the book. Write down the call number (or text it to yourself!) and then find the call number range that your book falls within on the side of the bookshelves. If you need help finding a book, ask someone at the circulation desk on the first floor for help.

GIL-Find @ University of West Georgia

If you don't find what you need there, you can try one of the other 35 libraries in the Georgia state system through the GIL Universal Catalog.

GIL-Find Universal Catalog

And if that's not enough, you can search WorldCat to see what is available at other libraries. We'll try to get what you need through ILL. (Since WorldCat is a subscription database, you'll need to get the current password to access it)

If you live in GA, your UWG student ID will also allow you to check out books from any of the University System of Georgia institutions in person.

You might also consider Georgia PINES, which searches public libraries in GA.