Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GeoScience Resources

Ingram Library Resources for GeoScience students and faculty

Sources for Geosciences

 Ingram Library subscribes to the online reference collection Credo Reference, which contains hundreds of encyclopedias, biographies, and other science-specific resources.

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias (on the main floor reference shelves)

Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human society (2 volumes)
Call Number: GE149 .E445 2002

Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences (5 volumes)
Call Number: QC854 .E522 2003


Encyclopedia of world environmental history (3 volumes)
Call Number: GE10 .E63 2004 

Geographic information
Call Number: G116 .J65x 2003

World economic and social survey ... : international migration
Call Number: HC59 .A172x Add.1 Location: Reference Stacks

Illustrated book of world rankings
Call Number: HA155 .K87 2001 Location: Reference Stacks

Government Resources (in the Government Documents room/ Main Floor Library)

World Factbook, Central Intelligence Agency, 2007
Gov Doc Ready Ref PREX 3.15: 2007

Environmental planning for communities : a guide to the environmental visioning process utilizing a geographic information system (GIS)
Call Number: EP 1.8:V 82

American FactFinder
by U.S. Census Bureau

USGS Maps, Imagery, Data, and Publications
by the United States Geological Survey

Sources for Geology


Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Glossary of geology
Call Number: QE5 .B38 2005 Location: Reference Stacks

Encyclopedia of Geormorphology (2 volumes)
Call Number: GB400.3 .E53 2004 Location: Reference Stacks

Encyclopedia of geochemistry
Call Number: QE515 .E48 1999 Location: Reference Stacks

Astronomy encyclopedia
Call Number: QB14 .A875 2002 Location: Reference Stacks

AIP physics desk reference
Call Number: QC61 .P49 2003 Location: Reference Stacks

Encyclopedia of Minerals
Call Number: QE355 .R6 1990 Location: Stacks


Encyclopedia of sediments and sedimentary rocks
Call Number: QE471.2 .E53 2003 Location: Reference Stacks

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather (2 volumes)
Call Number: QC854 .E523 1996 Location: Reference Stacks

Encyclopedia of world environmental history (3 volumes)
Call Number: GE10 .E63 2004 Location: Reference Stacks

Glossary of Geological Terms
Geotech.org


Handbooks, Manuals, Guides


Engineering geology field manual
Geology, Geophysics, and Seismotectonics Group--Bureau of Reclamation

Earth : an introduction to physical geology
Call Number: QE28.2 .T37 2002 Location: Stacks