Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of American Architecture

Special Collections

Ingram LIbrary's Special Collections has a rich variety of primary sources that you can make use of. Find more info about Special Collections here: 

Special Collections at UWG

You can also search in ArchiveGrid for Special Collections here at UWG, across the state, and across the country

Primary Source Databases available through UWG

Historic Newspapers

Here you can safely stick to online. Again, you will find these linked off this site: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/subjects/ . While many of these are full-text searchable, you might want to browse through full page images so you can see ads and other ephemera not indexed.

Newspaper Databases via Galileo

African-American Newspapers

  • 1827 - present
  • Covers multiple states

America's Historical Newspapers

  • Early American Newspaper Series: 1690-1922
  • The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction: 1843-1877

Atlanta Constitution

  • 1868-1925
  • Full-page and article images
  • Can search full text

Early American Imprints I&II

  • Series I 1639-1800
  • Series II 1801-1839

Georgia Historic Newspapers

  • Includes Cherokee Phoenix, Colored Tribune, and Dublin Post

New York Times

  • Full-text, full page and images
  • 1851-2001

Washington Post

  • 1877-1993