Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UWG1101

A brief library research guide for students enrolled in UWG1101

Finding Articles

Ingram Library subscribes to over 400 databases where you can find the following kinds of information:

  • Full-text magazine, journal and newspaper articles
  • State and federal court transcripts
  • Television and radio news broadcast transcripts
  • Full-text books
  • Streaming videos
  • Statistics
  • Full-text encyclopedia sets
  • Historical photographs
  • and more!

GALILEO is the directory that lists these different resources. GALILEO itself is not a database, just a listing.

To see a listing of all of the databases, go here: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/westga/databases/all/

Since this list is a bit overwhelming, UWG Librarians have created research guides for all majors (and some for individual courses, like this one). You can find all of the guides here: http://libguides.westga.edu/index.php

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database which means it has popular and introductory scholarly information for nearly all fields of study. It's the one we recommend you start with, especially for most of your first year courses. In Academic Search Complete you can limit to scholarly publications and email yourself the fulltext of many articles (not all are available fulltext in Academic Search Complete).